We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vanderbilt Grace - a mansion of true grace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vanderbilt Grace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Vanderbilt Grace to your Saves list
The Vanderbilt Grace
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Vanderbilt Grace - a mansion of true grace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

THis is more than a mere hotel. As you walk in you have a gorgeous horseshoe staircase beckoning exploration, at the top of which is a beautiful small sitting area (see picture below). Beyond the front desk is the glassed in casual restaurant which overlooks an outdoor garden/eating area in nice weather overlooking a beautiful church steeple. There is a billiard room. A bar with a dynamite selection of wine by the glass. A huge indoor swimming pool. An outdoor pool. And a very elegant fine dining restaurant. Icing, the staff is pleasant and ever present with an offer of help. Entering the room assigned to us the ceilings soared upward 20 feet and was graciously laid out with a tall bookcase room divider with a flat screen TV on both sides, one facing the bedroom side and the other the sitting area. Top all this with its location at 41 Mary Street and you are within walking distance of everything lively in Newport. Give it a try your next visit.

Room Tip: The room with the tall ceilings may be room 205, but it is the only room in the hotel with metal key...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    58
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
88
278
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A great hotel with great rooms that make you feel like you are staying in your own apartment while still having all the amazing amenities of a hotel. Service is fantastic and food is great. The spa, pool and when the roofdeck reopens all are reasons you must visit this centrally located hotel in the heart of wonderful Newport

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the Vanderbilt Grace, for a quick mid winter get away.
After reading many reviews, we chose this small hotel, rather than one of the other high end properties such as Castle Hill Inn, because of its location, the presence of an indoor swimming pool, and an onsite highly regarded restaurant.
The hotel was excellent in all aspects and lived up to its reputation. It is an interesting mix of old world luxury with contemporary flair.
Our room, a junior suite, was large, well appointed, and comfortable. While we tend to prefer more traditional furnishings, the decor was quite nice. The internet service, which is included, was fully functional. The only negative regarding the room was a very noisy heater, that interrupted my sleep. ( I am a light sleeper)
All staff were extemely friendly and helpful throughout our brief stay.
Continental breakfast is included and was very adequate with fresh fruits, breads, cereals, cheeses, and meats.
One evening we ate in Muse. Jonathan Cartwright, the head chef, came to our table, discussed the menu, and brought us special samplings. He checked on our satisfaction several times during the meal. The entire dining experience was excellent.
I very much enjoyed the indoor pool and work out area. It is clean, well kept, and with nice touches throughout. A great way to relax at the end of the day.
The location of the hotel is superb if you want to explore the downtown. To get to the mansions, a car is most helpful. We understood this at the time of our booking.
Would definitely return to this hotel in future visits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, PA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Vanderbilt Grace has easily set a new standard for hotel service for us going forward.

Before we arrived it was great to get an e-mail welcoming us. It makes me feel at ease to know I don't need to worry my reservation was messed up or lost.

When we drove up, we were greeted and all our luggage was quickly brought in. As we checked in we enjoyed a glass of champagne. Soon we were walking up to our Loft Suite. The room was inviting, comfortable and well decorated. Having the two floors would definitely be great for a longer stay to have space to relax in. The bedroom on the second floor was large enough to spread out in and had the full bathroom. The room was clean and well maintained throughout. I really liked the color scheme and furniture chosen. It really all worked together to give a great Newport feeling.

Breakfast was a bit light for the buffet, but just by adding a couple eggs we were full and ready to start our day. The restaurant, Muse, on the other hand was a totally different story. This was a truly perfect dining experience and next time we visit, we will be sure to do dinner here again.

After dinner we had to rush out for some pre-wedding day activities, but afterwards came back to enjoy a drink and try our hand at some snooker. Just like everywhere else the staff was friendly at the bar. Never having played snooker we were pretty bad, but this was a great way to end the evening.

The main winner here at the hotel and in the restaurant was the superb service. When we left for the night, we were wished a good evening and when we arrived, welcomed back. The man who helped us with our car and luggage both days was amazing. He was friendly and went out of his way to get things done. At times I don't know how he could have gotten it all done without running around everywhere.

We were only in town for one day to attend a wedding, but because of the Vanderbilt Grace, we are already planning on coming back in the summer. Overall this was a great evening and we can't wait to do it again, and hopefully for a few more days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaGrace, General Manager at The Vanderbilt Grace, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Mark H,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks; I will make sure I pass these on to the Grace Team.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Marina Aslanidou
General Manager
Vanderbilt Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Spent one night with my two adult daughters in this charming hotel. Nice suites, very friendly service ! We chose it because it looked less "honeymoony" than the others that we checked on tripadvisor. Indeed it is not and we had a great time. The only bad point is that the internet was not functionning. But who needs internet when you're away for a week end. The staff was very helpfull with restaurants advices too. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent two nights over the Easter weekend at the Vanderbilt Grace. We stayed in a loft suite wich was ideal for me, my wife and our 3 year old son.

The room was spacious and nicely furnished. The staff couldn't do enough for us and everyone made an extra effort - champagne on arrival, complimentary chocolates every evening, complimentary valet parking, making up a special table for us at breakfast etc.

The basement pool area was perfect for our morning / evening dips and our son was really excited to have the opportunity to go swimming and have the pool to ourselves.

I also have to commend the cleaning team. I've never seen hotel cleaning staff work so diligently and efficiently. Was really impressed by the obvious pride they took in their jobs.

The only mild criticism would be 1) that during our stay the wi-fi was not operational and 2) considering that the suites are so convenient for families (with a small kitchenette) it's a shame that the room service menu is so limited.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend to any other visitors to Newport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I went to this beautiful hotel to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary.
Our room was great. We had a Junior 500 with plenty of space for one night. It was very clean and fresh. The bed was oh so comfy. The pool was refreshing and a great way to get some
exercise. They also have a sauna for extra relaxation. What a treat!
Dinner at Muse was excellent from start to finish. The atmosphere is romantic and fun with
piano music and lovely artwork to enjoy.
Everything is made even better by the people who work at the Grace Vanderbilt. From check in
to housekeeping and everyone in between went out of their way to make our stay special .Go,
you will love it!

Room Tip: Good description on the website to help you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vanderbilt Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt Grace

Address: 41 Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Vanderbilt Grace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanderbilt Grace is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Muse by Jonathan Cartwright, our newly renovated simply elegant restaurant as well as The Conservatory, our more casual a la carte restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Vanderbilt Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vanderbilt Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.