We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vanderbilt Grace

Save Saved
You added The Vanderbilt Grace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vanderbilt Grace
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Vanderbilt Grace is the perfect place to stay in Newport! The hotel is a wonderful mix of classic and modern luxury with a professional staff that is very friendly and attentive to your every need. Our initial room was close to an elevator and as a seasoned traveler and light sleeper I knew this would not work. The hotel staff immediately repsonded by giving us a complimentary upgrade to a very quiet room that was spilt level with the bedroom upstairs in a quiet sanctuary. We also had a lovely dinner at the hotel restaurant Muse with a table just off the fireplace which was perfect on a cold fall evening. The complimentary breakfast in the sunroom just off the garden was the perfect way to start the day after your morning swim in the gorgeous indoor pool. The hotel is also very centrally located and an easy walk to everything. When checking out I was also surprised to learn the hotel valet parking was complimentary since it was off season ....so all of this combined also made for a great value considering the excellent quality of the stay. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    52
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
81
249
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seekonk, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We visit Newport every year at this time to spend time with my sister and her husband who stay at the Castle Hill Inn. While browsing the internet for a place to stay, I remembered the Vanderbilt Grace from visiting at least 20 years ago. We had a great time then, and it was even better than I remembered. My husband and I checked in around 6 pm to a wonderful reception that included a glass of champagne. The staff is fantastic and very accommodating from housekeeping, bellboys, bartenders, waiters, and the attentive and very helpful people at the reception desks! As we were playing a game of billiards we were greeted by someone who I assume was the chef, with some hot hor dourves that were delicious. I don't know if this is customary but it was a nice touch! When we arrived we were upgraded to a nicer room that was available with a king size bed that we had requested but was not confirmed. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel that was fabulous as well as enjoying the beautiful pool and sauna. Have a drink at the bar - my cosmo was made to perfection! It was a short but " really sweet" stay, and we will definitely return. The staff went out of their way to ensure that our stay was wonderful! Thank you for your hospitality - this is what it's all about and you've got it!!

Room Tip: I would highly recommend this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Each year, my husband and I head to Newport for a fall weekend getaway. We have stayed at a number of places but always seem to return to Vanderbilt. Perfect in-town location, luxury accommodations, and great breakfast included. This past weekend was our fifth visit, and it was fabulous!!! Kudos to the staff for making one feel welcome, comfortable and pampered! Already looking forward to next year!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The people that worked at the hotel were so accommodating and pleasant. The beds were so comfortable. A very nice place to stay. Friends used the Spa and loved their experience. The breakfast in the sun room was wonderful. The weather was beautiful, so it made for a great weekend get away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have been to Newport many times ... but our experience at Vanderbilt Grace was by far the best yet...the staff, the room, the hotel and of course the food at the Muse will bring us back with friends and family... and a special thank you to Justin for making our stay so special...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the first time for our 1yr anniversary. I have stayed in many different Newport hotels and this was by far the best experience. The staff were very friendly and accomidating. The simple touches in the room made you feel relaxed and comfortable. In the evening we sat in front of the fire place just enjoying a couple drinks and our surroundings.
I would definetly recommend the Grace Vanderbilt to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

first time here and especially with funds available we would go here again. not cheap but worth it. everyone from valet, to front desk, to various other employees were nice and attentive. details were there - from glass of champagne at checkout to taking bags to rooms to dog bed/ small bowls available in room to late night we were in playing snooker and employee walked by and offered us a night cap drink. one time fee for dogs that was fairly reasonable depending on size of dog - and hotel staff that was very nice to our dog throughout our stay. only note was dog needs to be out of room or crated if housekeeping attend to room - i have no issue with that policy. i really wish i would have went to the spa and restaurant. it was so close to other newport restaurants that we walked to dinner each night. we stayed in a junior suite and the room was huge and very nicely decorated and include a wet bar area with micro/ small refrigerator. only complaint was bathroom was small and virtually had no counter space and shower was a soaking tub so quite high to step in/out - might ask next time if all junior suites had this sort of bathroom but not a deal breaker. we were on 3rd floor facing a parking lot. Room service was very nice (didn't make you feel uncomfortable getting breakfast delivered when you were just awaking) - breakfast and lunch were tasty (a bit pricey but to be expected at this quality of hotel).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vanderbilt Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt Grace

Address: 41 Mary Street, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Vanderbilt Grace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vanderbilt Grace is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Muse by Jonathan Cartwright, our newly renovated fine dining restaurant as well as The Conservatory, our more casual a la carte restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. All room rates include champagne breakfast served in The Conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Vanderbilt Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vanderbilt Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.