We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wait Is Worth It!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corner Cafe

Corner Cafe
110 Broadway, Newport, RI 02840-2750
401-846-0606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: American, Irish, Portuguese, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Wait Is Worth It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Went with friends this past weekend, and enjoyed every bit of the breakfast experience. My wife, being a conservative sort, had eggs, bacon, and Irish Brown Bread, which were all excellent. I opted for the New York-style bagel with smoked salmon, tomato, red onion, and cream cheese. It also, was excellent, not the best bagel by any stretch, but the rest of it more than made up for it. Our friends had equally satisfying selections, omelettes with shrimp and spinach among other ingredients. We had a very nice time here in this justifiably busy establishment, with amiable and excellent service. We will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    77
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
new haven, CT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Very nice little shop to stop in for a great breakfast. Fast service great food and large portions and great prices. Next time were in Newport this will our breakfast stop.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oak bluffs
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“This place rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stopped here for breakfast/lunch with my adult daughters on a weekend trip to Newport based on the fact that it was full of locals, and we were not disappointed, even though we waited a bit for a table. The healthy section of the menu looked good to us, and we were not disappointed. (Think egg-white sandwiches with fresh veggies on homemade style bread and gorgeous fresh fruit.) The other options looked wonderful as well. Very friendly staff! Go!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We went for breakfast and seriously debated about returning for lunch. Great food, fantastic staff, and a comfortable atmosphere - we'll definitely go back next time we're in Newport!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very OK breakfast food in a nice setting. Prices are much too high for what you get. Waitstaff is very pleasant and cordial.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corner Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Corner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corner Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.