We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corner Cafe

Corner Cafe
110 Broadway, Newport, RI 02840-2750
401-846-0606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 177 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: American, Irish, Coffee Shop, Portuguese
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Chose the Corner Cafe because of Trip Advisor ratings. The restaurant is small and does not look very tempting. But the food and service is outstanding. I had the best omelette I have ever tasted and my daughter claimed that her burger was the best she has ever had. My wife and son also raved about their selections. The restaurant was very busy and we did have to wait about 15 minutes before we were seated. The quality and taste of the food obviously makes it very popular. If ever in Newport again, we will definitely come back for more.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    87
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Got to go here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

This is just perfect it's not often you see people queuing to get in when across the road there are other options

Great food , great prices and excellent service go for breakfast and lunch , a gem ,popular with the locals .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion
2 reviews
“Awesome breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

ne of the best meals we had in our entire stay in Newport.   The breakfast was incredible!  So many combinations with fresh flavor.   I had the cowboy scrambler and it was great. Big serving size also.  You also have to try their famous Portuguese sweet bread french toast. It's truly a special dish.  I've been coming to Newport for 10 years and I just now found this place.   You can bet it will be a breakfast staple for our family.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Selected this breakfast spot from Trip Advisor. Believe what you read! The Red Bliss
Potato andEgg special was worth the 15 minute wait. I was also fortunate to share my wife's whole grain pancakes with berries. A wonderful breakfast experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Breakfast Bonanza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had breakfast here during our stay in Newport...worth the very short walk from the waterfront area, right up Broadway. The locals all know this place, but what a find for visitors. The Corner Cafe is a cozy, attractive spot with indoor seating, outdoor tables, as well as counter service. The menu selection is the absolute best we have ever encountered anywhere. There are several special omelets including very unusual choices (check out their website: http://cornercafenewport.com/breakfast-corner-cafe.html). A sample is the Vermont, which is an omelet that includes sausage, caramelized apples, walnuts, cheddar, topped with powdered sugar. You can also create your own with tons of healthy choices. The home fries are outstanding. Portions are huge, and of course the coffee cup is never ending. They have a large variety of drinks as well. We did not try lunch, but they looked delicious. Service was excellent. With all the restaurants in Newport, this is a hidden secret.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corner Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Corner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corner Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.