We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, and not close to the finest Newport has to offer” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hill Inn Dining Room

Castle Hill Inn Dining Room
590 Ocean Dr, Newport, RI 02840-6518
+1 401-849-3800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Castle Hill Inn Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ocean Drive
Description: The Mansion's chefs artfully craft fresh local fish, regional meats, and produce into a distinctly native, seasonal menu, served in four dining rooms within the Inn. On The Lawn, the epitome of classic New England al fresco dining, think small plates and summer cocktails delivered right to your Adirondack chair. From creative cocktails to appetizers to desserts, imaginative presentation and exceptional taste characterize Castle Hill Inn's fine Dining Experiences.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Overpriced, and not close to the finest Newport has to offer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were treated to a culinary weekend that included stops at Bouchard and the Spiced Pear, leaving brunch at Castle Hill as the finale. Sadly, it was a serious letdown. At each stop, we asked the waiter to recommend their signature dishes. Lobster Hash for brunch was the highest recommendation, lobster and potato hash with poached eggs on top. I saw at least 5 of these orders around the restaurant, and unlike the waiter's description the eggs were all nearly hard boiled, and offered no ability to mix with and turn the (also well overcooked) hash into anything worthy of the price. We sampled other dishes as well, and all agreed, we won't be back. The other restaurants I mention above are SO far above Castle Hill's abilities, and no higher priced. It was a real disappointment.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    74
    29
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best meals ever with a phenomenal view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Just wow!

My husband and I had never been to Newport. We randomly ended up dining here during Restaurant Week, which was an incredible deal.

We both started with mussels that were so delicious and fresh - the smoked seaweed really gave the broth a wonderful flavor! I had the salmon for dinner, clearly crafted by a chef with a lot of culinary talent - it was simply succulent! My husband had the chicken schnitzel, which he loved - it was crispy and flavorful. The portions were very large for a restaurant of this quality! We also enjoyed delicious desserts at the end of our meal.

Apart from the the culinary experience, the service is fantastic. Our server was very knowledgeable about the cuisine, the wine and the history of the place! We asked him for a mini history lesson.

Above all else - the VIEW!!! WOW, what a view! You have to see it to believe it!

A must in Newport!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west hartford,CT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Romantic dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely romantic dinner last Saturday. It was restaurant week and the selections were wonderful & tasty. Our server, Monty was friendly, and knowledgable. Had made our reservation via OpenTable. We were able to have our request for a quiet table for 2 granted. We had a lovely view of the lighted Newport bridge in a small dining room. A great experience. Looking forward to a return soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch with a beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We enjoyed out brunch, our Mimosas, the jazz quartet, and the excellent food. The service was top-notch. But best of all was the panoramic view out over the Bay.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect (Almost)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We couldn't have picked a better venue for what turned out to be the first beautiful day of spring this year. The Inn is nestled in a perfect location off Ocean Drive and the dining room has fantastic views. Our view du jour included workmen building some type of terrace or facade around the exterior of the Inn and dining room. Urgh. However, the noise was minimal and our server did not charge us for the "live entertainment." She was so delightful, and provided efficient service, that allowed for a leisurely Easter Saturday lunch. The food was quite good, as were the cocktails and wine selections (with solid options by the glass or bottel for the latter). The menu was simple and somewhat limited, but the selections were perfect for us. The prix fixe is very reasonable. Desserts were amazing. Can't wait to come back in summer and have cocktails in the adirondack chairs! I am guessing it will be picture perfect in just a few weeks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Hill Inn Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to Castle Hill Inn Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hill Inn Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.