We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views, ambience, service and top food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hill Inn Dining Room

Castle Hill Inn Dining Room
590 Ocean Dr, Newport, RI 02840-6518
+1 401-849-3800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Castle Hill Inn Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ocean Drive
Description: The Mansion's chefs artfully craft fresh local fish, regional meats, and produce into a distinctly native, seasonal menu, served in four dining rooms within the Inn. On The Lawn, the epitome of classic New England al fresco dining, think small plates and summer cocktails delivered right to your Adirondack chair. From creative cocktails to appetizers to desserts, imaginative presentation and exceptional taste characterize Castle Hill Inn's fine Dining Experiences.
peterjohnstone
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Views, ambience, service and top food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

Eat at the indoor bar. Superb service. Incredible food.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    74
    29
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Living on their laurels on a beautiful site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is in a classic old hotel on a beautiful site. However, our meal while nice by many standards was not outstanding in any way. The service was adequate for this type of place and some dishes were marginal. I would consider lunch for the view!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Casual elegance in a New England Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Beautiful dining room, amazing food selection (even for a vegetarian), stupendous half bottle wine list. So happy to have made our first night dinner reservation here after a long night. Then a short walk 'home' and asleep by the sea. Heavenly.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We visited Castle Hill for an early dinner on a lovely late afternoon in August. We couldn't afford to stay at Castle Hill Inn, so I figured a dinner there would give us an idea what it was we were missing.

We sat out on the terrace, overlooking Naragansett Bay, with all manner of sailboats passing in front of our view. It really was a lovely spot. And the valet was super, fast, friendly and efficient. But that's where the good stuff ends. The meal was mediocre: I had the bouillabaise, my husband had the steak. He says the steak was good. I found a long hair in my soup, but I didn't want to make a fuss, so just let it go. The ladies' room was out of toilet tissue in both cubicles, and smelled of urine. Service was very slow, even though we were almost the only ones eating at the time.

We paid $140 for dinner (no drinks), tip included. Not worth the view.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Food with a magnificent view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We had a lovely gourmet meal with a great view of the water. Wait service was excellent. The only negative is with bees and flies which surrounded us during our fine dining experience in the main dining room. The manager and my husband killed two bees during the appetizer course alone. We experienced the same problem when dining here last year. The door is left open so the staff can serve others that choose to dine outside and the bees fly inside.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Hill Inn Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to Castle Hill Inn Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hill Inn Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.