We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG. I am forever ruined by the perfect cheeseburger.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mission

Mission
29 Marlborough St, Newport, RI 02840
(401) 619-5560
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 177 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Newport, Rhode Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“OMG. I am forever ruined by the perfect cheeseburger.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I've been wanting to try Mission for a while...finally went in for lunch...great location...clean, cute decor...great music...but, let's skip to the cheeseburger I can't stop thinking about...pretty much the best burger I have ever had in my life...it was almost like lunch and dessert, all in one...it was SO good. The french fries are crispy, perfect pieces of heaven disguised as fries. I LOVE this place...also, really awesome beer selection...will definitely go back!!!!!! Don't listen to anyone who didn't give this place 5 stars...they clearly have something wrong with their taste buds. Great service...all around, this is an awesome place to eat in Newport!!!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    15
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Very good burgers and fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Very good burgers and fries. All made to order while you wait. The place is not much in the way of traditional seating. But in our case, that was a good thing because we were all hungry and tired, and didn't want to sit through a long, drawn out meal. Just wanted to eat quickly and move on. We got what we wanted. I would go back again.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“GO HERE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

If you are reading this review, you probably travel a good bit and have learned to trust trip advisor reviews. They are not like Yelp and other reviews. Trip advisor reviews are really thankful when someone steers them to a great place and feel obligated to extend the favor. Well Mission is that kind of find. My daughter and I were starving and looking for a great burger. We had been eating too much seafood and were craving a burger. This place has amazing burgers, maybe the best burger ever. The fries are equally good and I'm very picky because I hardly ever waste calories on fries. The parking can be tricky. The service is friendly and quick. If you just want a quick fun spot to pick up lunch, head over to Mission and enjoy a burger that you won't forget.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Second try”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We love TSK so we decided to give it a second try. Positive: I think they use quality ingredients and it is well cooked. But in my opinion the burger does not have a lot of flavor. The burger is soft to bite into but there is no texture contrast. The components do not enhance the overall burger. This is the second time the order did not come as we ordered it. Also, the cole slaw is not the traditional kind. And for me was not my favorite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“When you are tired of seafood...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

... Try this 'shack'! Mission serves excellent burgers, very good fries and tasty local beers in a cozy non touristy atmosphere (big wood tables, rustic furnishings). Super friendly staff. There are very few tables so you will most likely enjoy your burger at a communal high table. These are craft burgers not oversized burgers. The menu clearly states that all burgers will be cooked medium, let them know if you want it cooked differently. I will do Mission burgers again when back to Newport (I might actually do it again tonight).

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission also viewed

 

Been to Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.