We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely located, clean, friendly accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wellington Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wellington Resort to your Saves list
Wellington Resort
551 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nicely located, clean, friendly accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I decided to go to Newport for a short fall weekend at the very last minute and were pleasantly surprised to be able to use our RCI membership to find a place. The Wellington resort is a well-maintained property close to everything. Our unit was spacious and very clean with lots of amenities. They do not supply shampoo, conditioner, body lotion starters which is a little weird. The night front desk person who checked us in was terrific. She supplied lots of info and advice and also had menus and maps for us. Overall our stay was very pleasant and we would return to this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    26
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
26
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mahopac
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were so pleasantly surprised at this gem of a hotel in Newport. The suite we had was huge, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, living room, dining room, kitchen and huge terrace overlooking the Newport harbor along with smaller terrace off the larger bedroom. It was immaculately clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. There was two beautiful pools, one indoor and one outdoor and a large fitness room. The hotel was in walking distance to everything; Newport harbor and the mansions. In reading other reviews although the décor was not "modern" it was nice and we did have flat screen TV's. We had never stayed in a time share hotel before but certainly after this experience we would not hesitate to do so again.

Although there is no maid service the room had a large washer/dryer so we were able to wash and dry towels etc. and dishwasher.

Loved it!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with terrace on the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Four girlfriends and I stayed her last weekend and it was perfect for us. Spacious, on the water, a nice pool on the water, walking distance to all the action and a fair price. We would go back. That said, its not a "cool" place and there is no scene. The decor is also outdated (think wall paper and forget a flat screne tv), but we didn't care. It was nice to have a good size space, the kitchen and laundry in the unit. The staff was also helpful. We had a nice and fun weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Clean and spacious. A great value. Been here twice for bachelor parties and it really does the trick. Close to everything and nice pool. Not the Ritz, but quite a good place to stay in Newport and not spend $900 a night. Decor is a little old and the TVs are small and old but that's not why you go to Newport anyways. Bring toiletries and a positive attitude. Here's to feeling good all the time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our third visit to this property. Our group of two married couples enjoy this location on the harbor. We were easily able to view the fabulous fireworks on the 4th. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They were most willing to share their recommended restaurants. The Wellington is in a great location and the units are clean and well stocked. Although the televisions are somewhat dated, the beautiful pool(s), landscaping, friendly guests, and staff made this resort a most pleasant stay for us. On site free parking is definitely a "plus". There are even grills available for outdoor cooking. Just remember to bring or purchase charcoal. We are anxious to return for restaurant week!!!

Room Tip: Units #518 and 536 can easily accommodate 6 people. They are is a very desirable area of this resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location is great, the view is great, the rooms were spacious, so I shouldn't really complain, but i will...

I am a long time Hilton timeshare owner, so maybe I am spoiled, but this place touts itself as a top of the line resort and it really isn't. We checked into our room only to discover the A/C was not working. After suffering through a muggy summer night, they eventually told us it could not be fixed, and our options were to simply suffer, or move to another room. So we packed it all up and moved... losing just about a full day of our vacation in the process. The staff offered apology, but nothing else to compensate.

The HVAC unit was so loud it kept the kids awake.

While spacious - our two bedroom unit was maybe 700 square feet - roughly half was hallways... it seemed like an excessive waste of space.

The deck - while nice to have - was small and not really useful.

The Formica on the kitchen counter was chipped . Not terrible, but not "top of the line..."

The towels? Ever been to Motel 6? I don't need a marble bathroom to define luxury, all I really ask for is a decent towels, and TP that doesn't dissolve when I touch it. These guys score a big zero in that respect.

I'm still giving four stars - it wasn't that bad. I just feel it's important to set expectations.

Room Tip: As far as I can tell, every room has a great view. I did notice the top floors have smaller terraces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had a great stay at The Wellington this past Memorial Day weekend. There were 5 of us in a 2-bedroom suite and we all loved it! The suite was fantastic-clean, spacious, comfortable and great views!! Great location--shops, restaurants & bars just a short walk away. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I Wwll absolutley be returning!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#13 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
0.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.9 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,249 reviews
1.7 mi away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Resort

Address: 551 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wellington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Resort Newport
Wellington Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellington Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.