We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wellington Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wellington Resort
551 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Newport
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great family resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We took a road trip to Newport and stayed at the Wellington Resort. This place is great for a family. 2 bedroom suite, kitchen, water view, indoor and outdoor pool. Walking distance to downtown Newport. Great places to eat, and great live lobsters and other fresh seafood that you can buy and cook up in your room.

On Thames, so driving is a pain as parking and slow traffic can really be a pain. Resort does not do daily housekeeping so you have to clean your dishes, and launder your towels if you want clean towels daily. Our room

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor as you can walk right out the back door to the pool. Otherwise yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
22
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The resort could use some updating, however, if you are not expecting a glamorous and modern resort, the location is perfect for shopping, dining and viewing the mansions. The one bedroom we (my husband and myself) stayed in had twin beds, which is not what we considered ideal. The view of the bay area was nice and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. So if you are looking for comfort and prime location, this is it.

Room Tip: We traded in as a timeshare, so we could not choose a room. If you are renting and can choose, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed here during April school vacation. The place had great accommodations. The unit was quite large yet very comfortable. Our two daughters had their own room with bathroom while we had our own. A very big plus as you could image :) The place was emaculant when we got in. The staff was exceedingly knowledgable and friendly. I has a beautiful view of the harbor and is walking distance to almost all places.

Even though this was during off season, Newport was perfect for dining, shopping, and sightseeing.

If you are visiting Newport then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

excellent accomodations and friendly service. would recommend to all. spectacular veiw.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed at The Wellington off-season in March, so it was harder to gauge all of the outdoor activities that the resort had to offer. However, the rooms were spacious, clean
and well-appointed. Comfortable beds and plenty of room to roam within our 2 bedroom unit,
so the kids were not on top of each other. We had an oceanview unit, and even though it was March, it was absolutely beautiful. It appeared that most (if not all) of the units had balconies overlooking the ocean. I would have given this 5-stars if the kitchen were a bit bigger and equipped with a stove and/or oven. Without these, the unit was good for preparing breakfasts and lunches, however a hot dinner could not be cooked inside.
We prepared sub sandwiches one night for dinner. The microwave was smaller - good enough for heating up a cup of coffee/hot chocolate.
The location is perfect - close enough to easily access all the activities Newport has to offer, yet out of the fray enough to enjoy some peace and quiet. They did have an indoor pool,
which we did not have a chance to get to, and the clubhouse and staff were very friendly and accessible. Definitely a keeper!

Room Tip: There are only a couple of buildings - try to get a map of the resort, so you can see which units ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We were here in off-season (December) so we saw little resort activity, which we expected given the time of year. However, it was perfect. The units are large, well provisioned (no stove, which was fine with me), great view of the harbor, gorgeous sunsets and so comfortable! Walking distance to most places, local transit somewhat workable and taxis very reasonable. We never had a bad meal in a week in Newport, with most places being walking distance. I would love to stay during the high season to experience the water activities. The resort is right on the harbor so I bet it's hopping in the summer. Overall, no complaints and plenty of praise. The staff was friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

The Wellington is the perfect location when staying in Newport. Far enough from downtown to be quiet even during the busiest season and close enough to walk to restaurants and shopping. Staff is courteous, helpful and check-in and check-out is smooth and easy. We are owners of a timeshare at The Wellington. Only once in all our years of ownership have we banked our week and traded it for a timeshare somewhere else. The property and units are very well maintained & updated as needed. Considering that this timeshare resort is right on the water and subject to extreme weather conditions it is in amazingly excellent condition.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wellington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Resort

Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Resort Newport
Wellington Hotel Newport
Address: 551 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellington Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wellington Resort to your Saves list