We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You!!! Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belle View Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belle View Inn
Save
You added Belle View Inn to your Saves list
22 Freebody Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Thank You!!! Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Dear Zoulomis Family.....thank you for such a wonderful stay for my mother and I! I could not have asked for a better place to stay and will try my hardest to come again next year!

Lourna's adorable Bed & Breakfast is located right across the street from the International Tennis Hall of Fame. So if you are attending the tournament held in early July each year like we did....this is the perfect place to stay. Lourna and her husband, along with helper Emily made our stay so relaxing and perfect. We stayed in the Freebody Suite which had a master bedroom and a sitting room separated by a door that could be closed at night. The sitting room had a sofa which folded out into a fouton and that is where I slept. It was just like a real bed, very comfortable. My mother slept in a big four poster bed in the other room. The room was air conditioned with a window air conditioner that worked very well. Each room had a ceiling fan as well. The room was beautifully adorned with great antiques that they have collected. I understand they have an antiques store as well which we did not have time to visit. Beautiful décor, lovely rugs, just cozy. The bathroom was large with a nice shower and great Turkish towels. She has everything you need in there including a hair dryer.
There are many places to sit and relax at this B & B.....rocking chairs on the front porch, rocking chair on the back porch. Lovely back yard with a great Greek statue. In the front yard Lourna has many beautiful flowers and a very cozy little swing. I could go on forever. My mother and I were very comfortable and felt well looked after.
Lourna serves a nice breakfast. No hot plates like eggs, etc. But this was all my mom and I needed. Each day she asks you what you want for the next morning. She goes to a bakery near by and picks it all up. It is lovely. Croissants, muffins, bagels, etc. Then she serves it to you with fruit and then makes fruit salad as well. She has a toaster if you want to toast your bagel. She has a refrigerator stocked with milk, water, cream cheese, yogurt. She has whole fruit out. She has three different types of cereal out. She has hard boiled eggs. Everything you could want and she is right there on top of it. By the way, she has a wonderful personality...so warm, friendly and welcoming.
She also has a small coffee station in a different area. It is a Keurig machine and she has any tea or coffee you want available 24-7. She also makes homemade chocolate chip cookies and leaves them out at night....I think I ate the whole plate. She also has a small refrigerator stocked with water and she leaves granola bars out as well. This is all for the late night or early riser that wants a snack! Yum!
Okay, I could go on forever, but this place is great. And.....she takes care of you....anything you want.
Thank you Lourna and husband! We will be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    21
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
101
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Belleview Inn is a modest but charming, reasonably priced bed and breakfast. It is off the beaten path but still within walking (or biking) distance of the major points of interest. We took our bicycles and stored them safely. Both our hostess and her assistant who served breakfast were friendly and extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the town and its sights. Their recommendations for restaurants were right on target. The breakfast offerings were tasty and fresh and served in an elegant dining room while lovely classical music played in the background. Our hostess was more than willing to make special breakfast orders to accommodate diet restrictions. She also baked to-die-for chocolate chip cookies both days of our stay and left them out for us to snack on when we returned from our adventures (along with some fresh milk). Our room was comfortable and clean (however, we didn't spend much time in it) We would definitely return and I would not hesitate to recommend the inn to friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I came to Newport in June to play tennis and this B&B is directly across the street from the grass courts at the International Tennis Hall of Fame. In fact one of the cozy suites I stayed in is actually named after the Tennis HOF. Of course your stay here will be enhanced by the dynamic duo of Lorna and Emily, who will provide outstanding service and give you great recommendations on choosing mansions and local restaurants. In addition to the close proximity to tennis, there is also a supermarket, same day wash-and-fold laundromat, and FedEx shop right across the street. The Kingscote China trader mansion is nearby and has some of the best interior contents of all the mansions, including lots of silver, some authentic Chinnery paintings and Ben Franklin's autograph. It's also possible to stroll down the street from the inn to the famous Cliff Walk. Almost everything you'll need in Newport is within walking distance of this inn, plus great gelato, antiques, and sunsets. This B&B is simply wonderful! It's an absolute MUST for any tennis player who is making a pilgrimage to the grass courts, but non-tennis players will enjoy it as well. Don't forget to observe the osprey nest just beyond the upstairs balcony; a bonus for birdwatchers!

Room Tip: There are 2 suites upstairs: Freebody Park Suite: Better shower facility, ceiling fans to help bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Lorna and Tony run a superb B&B. They pay great attention to detail and customer service from the moment you make the reservation until the time that you leave. The accommodations very clean, spacious, and well appointed. It would be tough to find a more central location. They are the perfect balance for innkeepers - having a wealth of knowledge about the area and being super nice but not overwhelming on the guests. I have already made two more reservations for the coming months. There are a lot of accommodation choices in Newport but you won't find one that beats the Belle View Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was our first trip to Newport, and we were rewarded by finding the best place to stay. The Belle View Inn was centrally located just across from the Tennis Hall of fame, and we were able to walk to both the wharf area as well as to the beach and cliff walk and mansions. No need for driving, with off street parking an added bonus. The Inn was clean and beautifully decorated and the staff and Inn Keeper more than helpful with ideas for day trips in the area, and great places to eat. Make sure you eat at Sardellas at least once! Breakfast was served in a bright airy dining room, with a nice selection of fresh fruit, cereals, danish and bagels. Our room was spacious, with a comfortable bed, great bathroom, and sitting room with a refrigerator. What more could you need? We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Newport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lathrup Village, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

6/26/2013
My husband and I just returned from a trip to Newport where stayed at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast, the Belle View Inn. Since this was my first stay at a B&B, I didn't know what to expect. I can honestly say that I was delighted with the accommodations, location to downtown Newport, and hospitality. The owners are extremely knowledgeable about the area and made great recommendations on where to eat, sights to see, and the best way to make the most of our trip. We will definitely return to the Belle View Inn the next time we visit Newport.
Joe & Michelle

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in mid-May in the Freebody Suite. It was a great room on the first floor with two rooms, one with antique furniture and bed, the other a living space. The bathroom was spacious enough and the shower was amazing! The host Lorna was nice and very informative and the breakfasts were great too. There was a list the night before to choose from of what you wanted.
The location is perfect as it's about a 15min walk from the downtown area and maybe 10 to the start of the cliff-walk. As of mid-May you could only walk to the Breakers mansion on Ruggles Ave as Hurricane Sandy has shut the rest of it.
The B&B is opposite a supermarket which was convenient and also on a very quiet street.
We would recommend this place and would definitely stay there if we return to Newport!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belle View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle View Inn

Address: 22 Freebody Street, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the spectacular Cliff Walk at Newport Beach and downtown Newport is Belle View Inn, our Grand Victorian featuring views of the legendary Tennis Hall of Fame. We get rave reviews from our guests since are rooms are spacious and well appointed and they love our our central location in the heart of Newport. We are an easy walk to downtown, the harbor, the beach, the mansions, Cliff Walk, the Tennis Hall of Fame and Salve Regina University. Private and secure with free off-street parking, private baths, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, relaxing decks and porches, fresh-baked afternoon cookies and free Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi). ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belle View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.