We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn in Newport, RI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belle View Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belle View Inn
22 Freebody Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% on 3 night Stay
Ranked #8 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Autumn in Newport, RI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed 2 great nights at the lovely Belle View Inn in Newport, RI. The Inn is located within walking distance of the Cliff Walk, the mansions, the stores, and the wharfs. Lorna, the innkeeper, was very helpful in suggesting good restaurants and exciting places to visit. We thank her for recommending the Sachuest National Wildlife Refuge. The easy walking trails afforded spectacular views of the ocean crashing against the rocks. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated, and breakfast was served in a bright, sunny room. We would definitely return to the Belle View Inn. The chocolate chip cookies and coffee were an added treat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
99
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The inn is well located for the town and sights of Newport and has a good car park. The best thing about this place was Lorna who was one of the nicest hosts we met on our New England trip. She was welcoming without being overbearing and provided good information on places to eat and visit. She is the sort of innkeeper we hoped to find on our trip. Breakfast was plentiful with a good selection and a choice of fresh baked goods every day. The breakfast room was pleasant and we had a chance to meet and chat with other guests in a relaxed sitting.
The rooms were spacious and clean with a good supply of towels and toiletries. Water,coffee and snacks were also readily available at no extra charge?
We would highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freehold nj
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Belle View Inn a couple of weeks ago. We had a great time! Lorna and Tony were very welcoming, and they both gave us lots of ideas about where to go in Newport. The Inn's location is terrific! We walked all over downtown Newport which was great. The breakfasts were splendid as well. The baked goods were a great way to start the day. Our room, the Freebody Park Suite was quite spacious. The parking lot next to to the Inn was very well located as well. On the weekend we visited we were able to go to both the Newport Boat Show, and the International Tennis Hall of Fame. The ever popular mansion tours were very fun to visit as well.

We look forward to staying again at the Belle View Inn on our next visit to Newport.

;

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Lovely B &B in a good and quiet location. Lorna is very helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Room was clean, nicely done and relaxing. Breakfast included fresh fruits and pastry of your choice along with all the other standard choices. Off street parking was nice and an interesting neighborhood to do your morning walk!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Belle View was immaculate in cleanliness, spotless wooden floors and richly decorated. The breakfasts were superb. Access to the Newport Mansions was great via bicycles, which we had brought. It afforded us the opportunity to enjoy the neighborhoods at our pace. Local restaurants were in walking distance, and the harbor only a very short distance away. The Cliff Walk was also within easy walking distance from the Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic stay at the Inn. The room was immaculate and it was a comfortable place to relax. Ideal location near everything. The breakfast each morning was delicious with various breakfast choices. The Inn Keepers Tony and Lorna are very kind and offer recommendations to help determine where to have dinner and sight see. Emily the assistant Inn Keeper also made sure we were happy. The view of the Ospry's nest was an extra bonus that makes this Inn unique. Pricing is extremely reasonable and you are doing an injustice if you don't stay here. We will frequent with another trip in the very near future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I'm a native Newporter and when I come back to visit, I like knowing that this is going to be here. Our particular room was quite large, very clean, and had high-quality decor. Although very quiet, it's in a central location - can walk to many excellent restaurants and interesting parts of Newport. You are adjacent to a lot of interesting history - Tennis Hall of Fame on one side an early Newport Jazz Festival on the other. Breakfast was excellent and Lorna is a very friendly, thoughtful host. She really cares about her guests' comfort and satisfaction. If I know friends are going to Newport, this is the place I recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belle View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle View Inn

Address: 22 Freebody Street, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the spectacular Cliff Walk at Newport Beach and downtown Newport is Belle View Inn, our Grand Victorian featuring views of the legendary Tennis Hall of Fame. We get rave reviews from our guests since are rooms are spacious and well appointed and they love our our central location in the heart of Newport. We are an easy walk to downtown, the harbor, the beach, the mansions, Cliff Walk, the Tennis Hall of Fame and Salve Regina University. Private and secure with free off-street parking, private baths, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, relaxing decks and porches, fresh-baked afternoon cookies and free Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi). ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belle View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Belle View Inn to your Saves list