We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baby-moon Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almondy Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Almondy Inn to your Saves list
Almondy Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   25 Pelham St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Baby-moon Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife & I planned a quick getaway to Newport, RI while we were expecting our first child. The Almondy inn was a great choice because of the location. As someone who previously lived in Newport, I knew the location very well and the Almondy's can't be beat, especially since parking is available. Everything is walkable, even the mansions (if you don't mind a hike).

Upon arrival, our host Evelyn upgraded us to the Burgundy suite which was just perfect. The room was elegant, well appointed & clean, with a gas fireplace & jacuzzi. Our host also prepared a local wine & cheese plate for us. In the morning, breakfast was very good & served elegantly. Over two days included scones, biscuits, fruit, omelets & frittatta, coffee & OJ. My wife enjoyed the egg dishes & I was happy with the fruit & baked products.

Anyone who's looking for a place to stay should give this option some serious consideration.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    23
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
208
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We only had a one night stay at this B&B in Newport. We came here after a three night trip to Boston. I wish we would have just spent all of our time in Newport. It was much more of what we were looking for in a vacation. We checked in a little early and they accommodated us immediately which was very nice. We also had a free upgrade. So thank you for that :-)

The room was very nice with a private bathroom. It was spacious enough for a stay at a B&B. We had a little flat screen TV with cable which is nice to use when you are just lounging in the room. Everything was very clean which is my top priority. There was a large jacuzzi style bath tub which would be great to relax in.

We didn't get a chance to sample the breakfast in the morning because we were out pretty late the night before and wanted to sleep in before making our drive back to Philly. But because of the amazing location you have the chance to sample all shopping, dining, and bars in walking distance which we took advantage of. We will definitely be back to Newport and we would stay at the Almondy Inn again... maybe even splurge for a larger room next time too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Me and my husband celebrated our one year anniversary on august 27th. We stayed at the almondy inn. I was very pleased with choosing the almondy. Evelyn the inn keeper is very warm and welcoming and her breakfast is amazing..she helped with choosing places to visit and the best restaurants to go to..we chose the blue bay room. It was lovely and enough for me and my husband..we'll definitely be going back next year for another stay at the almondy..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Located near the wharf, it is within walking distance to all the great restaurants in town. Rooms are charming and clean. Friendly and knowledgable innkeeper. Gourmet breakfast is prepared for you in the grand dining room every morning. Definitely one of the best B&B in town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We loved it! Great position in a lovely town, great ambience, very individual. We stayed in a lot of places on our travels round New England but this was one of our favourites. The hosts know how to entertain & we really enjoyed the evening get-togethers with the other guests. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

This B&B is fabulously furnished. We stayed 2 nights in the sunset room from which we saw a fabulous sunset. The furnishings were 1st class and the room had a gas fireplace which was pleasant since it was a starting to get a little cold outside. Lighting the fire was a little scary though. Unfortunately, the first night (a Sunday) the bar on the west side of the house was extremely loud until 1 am. Monday night was quiet since the bar had comedy night on Mondays. We would definitely stay again, but would want a room on the east side of the house. The location was fabulous for walking around the old parts of town. The coffee was good and breakfast was more than plenty.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
180 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Your hosts here are excellent, friendly and very keen to help you enjoy all that Newport has to offer and there's a lot!

Our room was nicely decorated and the bathroom was fine. The breakfasts were the best we'd had on our trip, taken around a large communal table. The afternoon cheese and wine was also very enjoyable, allowing you to chat both to your hosts and your fellow guests.

There's parking at the side and back of the Inn which is great because it's almost impossible to get a space anywhere nearby.

The location is excellent as you only have to walk a few yards and you're on the main shopping street and right across from the restaurants on the wharf. Unfortunately that's a bit of a double edged sword though because the place is absolutely humming at the weekend, and therefore pretty noisy. There was a disco/nightclub just across from our room and when the music kicked off later in the evening, it was pretty darned loud!!

This noise pollution is the only thing that stopped me giving a five star rating and I expect that this isn't an issue midweek.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room facing away from the waterfront if it's a weekend?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#11 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 977 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#1 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almondy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almondy Inn

Address: 25 Pelham St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almondy Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Almondy Inn offers fine Newport Rhode Island lodging, complete with five beautiful and spacious guestrooms, elegant amenities, and a convenient downtown location in the Historic Hill district. Many rooms feature Jacuzzis and beside fireplaces, and one-bedroom suites are also available. Enjoy a delicious breakfast every morning and explore Newport with the help of our knowledgeable staff. Look online today to learn more and book your next Newport vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Almondy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almondy Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almondy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.