We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rave reviews in every category!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almondy Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Almondy Inn to your Saves list
Almondy Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   25 Pelham St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Rave reviews in every category!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Gracious breakfast dining with candles, sterling silver, fresh flowers and gourmet food....this is a lovely Bed and Breakfast. There was a view of the water and sailboats from our room and guaranteed parking just one block from Thames Street--the main Newport drag! We could not have chosen better and we give this B&B rave reviews in EVERY category. You won't be disappointed!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    22
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
199
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nyack, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed in the plantation room, which was dominated by a huge, comfortable bed, but was well appointed and clean. The home itself is beautiful and is centrally located in town. It is a block away from Bowen's Wharf. The proprietors are lovely hosts and serve an amazing breakfast. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed recently at the Almondy Inn for a romantic getaway. We absolutely loved Evelyn, a wonderful Innkeeper and went all the way to make our stay memorable. The breakfasts are amazing! Location is good, walking distance to the pier and restaurants, short drive to everything. Only downfalls were the fact that it gets very noisy in the weekend due to the bar/discotheque next to it. We had a bachelor party with live music and it was impossible to sleep on Friday before 1am. We also had the Sunset Room which sadly did not come with a tub. We would have enjoyed a nice bath after a long day. Would we go back? Perhaps, but with earplugs this time around!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

The Almondy Inn is definitely among the very best B&B's/lodgings in which I have stayed. The hotel is conveniently located just steps from many of the best dining establishments in Newport and a very quick drive to the mansions and cliff walk. The Inn has parking on site making the stay tremendously convenient rather than looking for parking on the street or elsewhere. It was very nice to tour the historic district and shopping area of Newport and leave our car parked at the Inn. We checked in at about 6 and met our very accommodating host Evelyne who helped us with everything we needed and made check-in very pleasant. We stayed in the lovely Blue Bay Room at the front of the house on the second floor with a nice view, gas fireplace, four-poster bed and large jacuzzi tub - a very nice and extremely clean room. We certainly had no problems sleeping on the comfortable bed. Breakfast was from 8:30-10 and Evelyne served up some mouth-watering creations. At 5pm guests had wine and cheese and relaxed by the fireplace in the living area. I can't stress how relaxing and comfortable this inn was during our stay. An absolutely exceptional B&B.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setauket, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

My husband and I went their for our honeymoon and we will definitely go back! The owners went out of their way to accomodate my diet due to my pregnancy, gave us great advice on where to go as well give us privacy. They mapped us out routes and gave us great advice on where to go and when. The room was spacious and very clean. We had a little problem with the fireplace, but as soon as we brought it to the owners attention, it was resolved withing a matter of minutes. The Inn was also a half of a block away from everything; very convenient to get to any shopping, dining, and the Main Drive.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

My mom and I have stayed here twice...the owners are lovely...they are helpful and friendly but not "in your face." The inn has lots of charm - beautifully decorated and in a great location - literally steps from the wharf. The breakfast is delectable and served with a smile. Evelyn is a very interesting lady and very helpful in terms of what to see. My mom and I stayed here in the off-season - once in April and once in June. The first trip, Evelyn upgraded us to the LAnai Suite for no charge - this was a lovely room with a sitting area and private deck. The second time we had the Plantation Room which was a decent size. The only small complaint is that when we stayed there the first time in March/April when it was quite cold outside and inside and we had to keep turning up the heat (although we probably weren't supposed to!). We toured the mansions, the American Museum of Illustration (call ahead - they have weird hours), shopped and ate at the great restaurants. We especially love the Cooke House - very unique place although pricey. Some favorite mansions are Rough Point (not part of other historic mansions but SO worth the tour), The Elms, Chataeu Sur Mer and MArble House. Also - highly recommend the Cliff Walk but note that it gets very rocky towards the end - wear good shoes!! Anyway, you cannot go wrong with the Almondy Inn! .

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We had a near-perfect stay at the Almondy Inn. We stayed in the Plantation Room, which was very comfortable, if a bit overwhelmed by a large, very comfortable bed. The location is as good as it gets. Our hosts were very friendly, very helpful, and very accommodating (pun intended). Breakfast was delicious. When I declined a suggested meal, a fine alternative was cheerfully supplied. If we're ever in the area, we would certainly try to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Almondy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almondy Inn

Address: 25 Pelham St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almondy Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Almondy Inn offers fine Newport Rhode Island lodging, complete with five beautiful and spacious guestrooms, elegant amenities, and a convenient downtown location in the Historic Hill district. Many rooms feature Jacuzzis and beside fireplaces, and one-bedroom suites are also available. Enjoy a delicious breakfast every morning and explore Newport with the help of our knowledgeable staff. Look online today to learn more and book your next Newport vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Almondy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almondy Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almondy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.