We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to water” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Long Wharf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Long Wharf Resort to your Saves list
Wyndham Long Wharf Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   5 Washington Street, Long Wharf, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Long Wharf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Myerstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Close to water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hotel was nice, pool and hot tub not functional did have a good time at octoberfest would recommended thos hotel Newport! Is a very nice town with beautiful people. Would definitely come back here again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    51
    32
    23
    16
See reviews for
81
35
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Branson, Missouri
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've stayed in several condos over the years and this one was just average. I've stayed in a lot nicer ones. I didn't find anything to be wrong with our condo. It was nice and clean. You could hear some noises in the hallways, but wasn't too bad. The first night we checked in we could hear the music from the bar across the street until a little after 1 AM. The mid-week nights were not an issue. I really liked the dishes. They were a good quality and had a decent weight to them. The location was great. It was an easy walk to all the tourist trap stuff downtown and the pier.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at Wyndham Long Wharf the weekend going into Labor Day and had a good time. We stayed at a 2BR suite w/ a fold out Queen sofa; it was nice, clean, and suited our family (6 adults, 4 kids). It's in a great location by the docks and a short walk (3-5mins) to some downtown area attractions. The $1 happy hour raw bar from the bar Celtica next door is not to be missed! Sit on the bar to see the oysters being shucked.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We booked the Long Whaft in Rhode Island from the 28th August to the 5th September 2012, our reason for staying at the Long Wharf is that they have a pool and all the rooms have small kitchens in them as well as all the rooms being much bigger than if we had stayed in a Hotel. The Long Wharf is located right by the harbour and is only a few minutes walk to the heart of the town so its good for looking around the shops and just the right distance away from the bars etc.
The rooms at the Long Wharf are in need of a revamp but in general there fine, we found all the staff to be very friendly and helpfull and would use the resort again if we ever make it back to Rhode Island

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been revamped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We are long-time owners and can vouch for the place being built in the late nineties (we bought new in '99). The location is tops in Newport, and it trades well on RCI now that they are back to Silver Crown (formerly Gold Crown but had some bad years under Fairfield management). It is definitely in need of a "soft goods" upgrade, which I am happy to hear is happening this fall. My only real complaint this time is the loud beeping from both elevators as they pass through every floor. The sound is so piercing you can hear them halfway down the hall. Our room was unfortunately placed right next to the elevator, so I heard a steady stream of beeping whenever I was in there. I imagine every room within 50 ft of them has the same issue. Hopefully management will read this and get the elevator engineers in there to turn off those useless noisemakers.

Room Tip: ask for a room far away from the elevator! (and on the highest floor available, facing the harbor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

One of the best in Newport, great location, front desk is always helpful and other staff around hotel very friendly. As others have mentioned, it is a timeshare, plan accordingly. All rooms are 2b/r (there are two 3 b/r) and can comfortably sleep 6. Most of the other timeshare properties in Newport are not updated, this one is. It is also better than most hotels too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

First off, I don't understand why people compare this to a hotel stay; it's a timeshare property and should be rated as such. That being said, we were very pleased with our one week stay. Sure, the furniture and accents within the unit were tired( though we understand they will be completely updated later this fall), but it was clean and well equipped. The pools were great and you could check out as many fluffy towels as you liked. The grounds are very nice and there are several gas grills for guests use. Many people took advantage of the fresh lobsters for sale across the street, as we observed families enjoying lobster dinners at the picnic tables. Resort staff were friendly and accommodating throughout our entire stay. The location is fabulous for touring around the city; you can walk to all the great restaurants, shopping and harbor cruises. There are plenty of activities for those with young children and a small movie theatre for rainy days/nights. Check in and out was quick and efficient and we were provided with a booklet for savings throughout the city. Other than the "retro" furnishings we didn't find fault with anything and the beds were plenty comfortable!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Long Wharf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Long Wharf Resort

Address: 5 Washington Street, Long Wharf, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Long Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Newport
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Long Wharf Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Long Wharf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Long Wharf Hotel Newport
Wyndham Hotel Long Wharf
Wyndham Newport
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Newport Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Long Wharf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.