We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and brews!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf Pub

The Wharf Pub
37 Bowen's Wharf, Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly The Wharf Pub)
401.619.5672
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wharf Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Wharf Pub is a Gastric Style Pub with Comfort Food. Under new ownership as of December of 2012. Open 7 days per week for dinner at 5pm. Lunch served on the weekends at 12pm. Outdoor seating available in the Summer. Located in downtown Newport close to shopping, hotels and parking.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food and brews!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Popped in here for lunch. Loved the atmosphere, low key, casual, friendly. We were here at 2 pm and there was live music which was nice. We shared the Tator tots (delicious!), my husband had the tuna burger with Asian slaw which he said was delicious but very spicy! I had the shrimp po'boy which was delicious, and a huge sandwich! I couldn't finish it!
Good selection of beer, nice experience over all!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    47
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Loved the atmosphere and the menu! There was a kids menu with lots of choices. Service was polite and quick. Tater tots were awesome, so were the mason jar glasses for the kids drinks!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Edge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Little Place that Makes You Feel Welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We popped in for drinks one night, and felt so welcome and enjoyed the bar scene so much that we popped in again another evening, for light fare at the bar with a great local micro-brewed beer. Great location, great bartender!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Really good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We were in Newport during restaurant week, so we popped in this pub for a quick lunch and were really surprised by it's special for the event. First, it's a great pub, good selection of beer (my blueberry beer came with a handful of blueberries floating on top!) and is right on the wharf, so great location. The seafood chowder was delicious, and the special was a trio of bruschetta, a blackened cod caesar salad, and homemade graham crackers with a key lime curd. Everythng was beautfully prepared and delicious. And reasonably priced. Yep, we'd go there again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Warm and invited pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Tater tots have never been treated so well. Order them, thank me later. Fish chowder quite good. Good beer selection, friendly bartender/waitstaff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wharf Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wharf Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.