We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Beat It in Winter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayberry Inn of Newport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bayberry Inn of Newport to your Saves list
Bayberry Inn of Newport
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   20 Kay Street, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can't Beat It in Winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

Beautiful place. Can't beat the prices in winter for a gorgeous room with jacuzzi and fireplace! Breakfast could use some improvement, but all in all, a great place to stay. Newport is incredible!

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    62
    20
    15
    25
See reviews for
20
257
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
east longmeadow, massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

This bed and breakfast was great! We were traveling, so we had to check-in late. This wasn't a problem at all and they left an envelope for us with keys. The inn is cozy and just what we were looking for. We needed a weekend away for our anniversary. The room had a large king size bed with a fireplace and the bathroom had a jacuzzi tub which was so relaxing. The food was excellent in the morning, down to the coffee and tea. We weren't up for breakfast to eat in the diningroom, so I went down to get coffee to bring back to the room. The innkeeper sent me back up with a tray of food that was so yummy. Homemade baked french toast, baked apples and sausage. This was the first time in a long while that we had breakfast in bed. What a treat! Everyone was very pleasant and we will definately be returning again.

  • Liked — It was so comfortable and cozy
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich MA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

The Bayberry Inn is truly a grand old house. We were able to walk to local pubs and shops due to it's great location. The Gold room is a romantic suite that was perfect for our anniversary and the Inn hospitality was superb. We can't wait to go again.

  • Liked — The atmosphere of the old house and decor.
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

I stayed at The Bayberry Inn recently and I really enjoyed it. The staff were so helpful and you just must go for the breakfast. I stayed in the Blue Room with it own fireplace. On leaving I got a look at some of the other rooms and they looked beautiful. I would have no hesitancy in recommending this Inn.

  • Liked — The comfort of the room and the breakfast.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the bayberry inn and loved it. This was our first time we had stayed at a B&B and it was a lovely experience. We stayed in the honeymoon room which was beautiful and tastefully decorated.The wine and chocolates that i had ordered were in the room when we got there. The innkeeper was very accommodating and made our stay wonderful. We will definitely return for another romantic getaway. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

I stayed here with my boyfriend for my birthday weekend in Newport. It was a beautiful Inn with wonderful accomodations. The room was clean and very well decorated and the woman running the Inn was so sweet. It was located close to everything (Thames St., the mansions, and many great restaurants) and it really was just the cutest place to stay!!! Breakfast in the morning was delicious, too!

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

My husband and I visit Newport few times a year, but we usually end up driving back home same day. This time we decided to stay and we were happy we came across Bayberry Inn just driving by. From the moment we entered the Inn we felt "at home". The innkeeper was nice and friendly and found great room for us. We stayed in Captain Hunter suite - artfully decorated, top notch! Btw, Inn is in great location - we were able to walk for dinner at White Horse Tavern - best food in town! When we came back, fireplace was very apropos and jacuzzi was nice and relaxing. We woke up next morning to the smell of banana bread, breakfast was very nice with all food fresh made and very tasty. All in all, the place is charming, very well appointed. We had a great stay and definitely will come back. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayberry Inn of Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayberry Inn of Newport

Address: 20 Kay Street, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayberry Inn of Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayberry Inn of Newport is a boutique hotel located in the Historic District of downtown Newport. Elegantly restored 1837 Spanish Victorian walking distance to Bellvue Avenue, Thames Street, Touro Synagogue, Banister's Wharf, Bowen's Wharf, International Tennis Hall of Fame boast a fireplace, private bath with a 2-person Jacuzzi tub hair dryer iron AC TV/VCR high speed wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bayberry Inn of Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayberry Inn Of Newport Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayberry Inn of Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.