We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nikolas Pizza Newport

Nikolas Pizza Newport
38 Memorial Blvd W, Newport, RI 02840-3302
401-849-6611
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 204 restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just ok...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Pizza & salad were just ok. Seemed overpriced to me. The BEST BEST part of the meal was the dessert. They have homemade chocolate cake and carrot cake. These were HUGE and to die for.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    25
    48
    14
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beware conflicting online prices!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I were recently in Newport and wanted to pick up some pizzas for guests that were joining us at a hotel that evening. Before leaving Massachusetts we checked the internet to see where we could get pizza in Newport and a site came up with the menue for Nikolas. We called and ordered three large pizzas to go which the menue said would cost about $45. To our surprise, the actual bill we were given upon pick-up was closer to $70. The staffperson there explained that there are websites that quote their prices erroneously, and are not their websites. Apparently true, but it seems that Nikolas has done nothing to correct this. We've never had this experience before. We hoped that at least the pizza would be exceptional, but everyone agreed that it was not all that interesting. So our review is grossly overpriced pizza (three pizza for $70?!), and only mediocre quality for the high price. We would suggest looking elsewhere if you're in Newport.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great dinner after touring mansions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

After touring 3 Newport mansions with my family, the 4 of us (all adults) wanted and easy, relaxing bite to eat. We easily found Nikolas Pizza just a few blocks away from the mansions and were readily seated. They had a large menu with appetizers, salads, pizzas, calzones, oven-baked grinders and cold wraps, greek food, wings, and some burgers. We ordered the large Antipasto Salad and a pepperoni, mushroom, and feta pizza. It was just the right amount to feed all four of us. Great flavors and delicate balsamic vinegar dressing on the salad, and the pizza had a delicious sauce (not too sweet)! The price was entirely reasonable, too. It was the perfect way to end out day in Newport!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheney, Kansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We ate here one evening after touring the Newport Mansions. We wanted something reasonable in price and good. We picked a winner! There were 4 of us, and we shared a pizza that we created ourselves~Pepperonni, mushroom, and feta cheese, and we split an Antipasto Salad. Both were very good. The Salad was loaded with slices of italian meats and mozarella cheese, olives, green peppers, pepperoncini peppers, tomatoes, and crisp greens with a light olive oil and balsamic vinegar dressing. Our pizza was delicious~the combination we created was great and the crust was perfect. We had their original crust which was just right, and they also have a "razor thin" crust. We were very pleased with our meal. If we are ever in Newport again, we will definitely come back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for late night.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went there after a night in the wharf area. The pizza was delicious, the wings incredible and the service was perfect.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nikolas Pizza Newport also viewed

 

Been to Nikolas Pizza Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nikolas Pizza Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.