We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoneacre Pantry

Stoneacre Pantry
515 Thames Street, Newport, RI 02840
+1 401-619-7810
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $12 - $48
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Description: Stoneacre Pantry is a restaurant focused on quality sourcing, sustainability and a positive relationship with our local environment.
Westport, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We considered some of the other top rated restaurants down this street but nothing stood out for us until Stoneacre. We didn't have a reservation but they were able to fit us in at the bar within 45 minutes. We didnt' regret the wait. Loved the cocktails and the wine recommendation was spot-on and unusual. We had the rillettes and chickpea soup -- surprising flavors that were delicious. Roast duck on farro was very good. Our favorite part of dinner was talking with the owners and staff -- they really care about the food and our dining experience. Will definitely come again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    14
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Creative food, great cocktail, farm to table theme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I loved the food. Loved it. Started with Vanilla Manhattan cocktail (bourbon, vanilla beans, orange bitters) which was excellent. Then Kale salad. Then scallops with side of wild mushrooms. Then a chocolate salted caramel dessert. The dessert was exceptional, don't miss it. Food was fresh, "farm to table" and perfect. I was not thrilled with the layout, the chairs look cool and modern but not very comfortable. And it was quite loud. But I can easily overlook that as food was so good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“may not last through the off season”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Cannot understand the positive reviews. The portions were really small. The main course one of us ordered looked like an appetizer. Also, the fish I got was really salty. Four of us left the restaurant pretty hungry. The prices were very high (and included a big corkage fee). The owner tried to tout local ingredients, but did not name any RI farms. They'll need to make some changes to bring in customers during the off season.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A generation thing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is a thoroughly over-rated eating place. The food is mediocre and expensive, the wine list limited and much too pricey. But the crowning disadvantage is that the acoustic and the loud music combine completely to prevent conversation so a huge element in social dining is denied one. We complained to the owner who said "we like the music, it attracts a young crowd, it is a generation thing.". We over sixties were clearly not wanted.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We broke our golden rule......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We're on a road trip through New England. We've got three nights in Newport, we've never been here before. Where do we eat?

We walked around town for some time, checking menus here and there until we came across a restaurant located a little further down Thames St than most. The menu reads well, the restaurant looks good, it's a little empty but it is pretty early. We continue down the street, continuing our search - but nothing really stands out.

On the way back we stop and re-read the menu. Actually it reads pretty good, let's book a table.

That decision lead us to break our golden rule of travel - that is to never eat at the same place twice during the same holiday. Simply put, this place is a ripper. Great quality food at a reasonable price, cooked and served by people who clearly have a passion for what they do.

Oh, and I have to say, my wife does not drink rum yet the Dark and Stormy won her over. I need that recipe.... please......

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoneacre Pantry also viewed

 

Been to Stoneacre Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoneacre Pantry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.