We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Attwater

Save Saved
You added The Attwater to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MrandMrsSmith.com Jetsetter.com
The Attwater
22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Newport
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in late June for a friend's wedding. The Attwater is tucked away on a small, quiet street and is easy to miss but is a short walk from all of the greatness that Newport has to offer! It is right near shops, dining, museums, mansions, and more and a short drive to the beach. The Attwater is very charming and modern. The decor in our room was fun! The King bed was very comfortable and the pillows were so soft! Our suite was spacious however the other rooms I visited were quite small. Also, there is no elevator so try to avoid a 3rd floor room if you can! One cool feature of the hotel was the 2nd floor deck for lounging/sunbathing. The breakfast each morning was delicious. Scones, quiche, fresh coffee, everything was great! I enjoyed staying here and would definitely reccommend this place to anyone visiting Newport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are so glad you choose to stay we us during your trip to you friend's wedding. It sounds like you made the most our our outdoor deck and enjoyed our coffee cafe-style breakfast. We look forward to your next visit to Newport and The Attwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    35
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
105
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just got back from a one night stay at the Attwater to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. We couldn't have chosen a better place! From the moment we pulled up to this hidden gem and walked in, we were amazed. We loved the contemporary style and the intimate feeling mixed with the attention to detail. No stone was left unturned. They thought of everything!!! We stayed in a petite queen size room. The furnishings were beautiful and although this was the smallest room choice, it was just the right size for us. We loved the many different sitting areas throughout the hotel. The snacks and breakfast choices were delicious and the iPads were a nice touch. The people who ran the hotel were friendly and helpful yet seemed to be behind the scenes. At times, we were the only people around and it felt like we had the hotel to ourselves, definitely a benefit of staying at a smaller place. The location was great, walking distance to many restaurants, shopping and the cliff walk. The Attwater also had a private parking lot and a sitting area with outdoor furniture in the back. Loved it, can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Oh, it is so lovely to be called unique and unforgettable! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our Newport boutique hotel and enjoyed our "contemporary style and the intimate feeling mixed with the attention to detail." It is also a joy to us that you feel we leave no stone left unturned! We pride ourselves on our service at Lark Hotels and our resident managers at The Attwater, Brad and Meg, are a great example of that! We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Attwater has something you don’t always find in a BnB, clean and fresh rooms, common areas and everything is bright. Meg and Brad are fabulous resident hosts making sure you enjoy your time at the Attwater and Newport area.

As written in all of the other reviews, it is located in a great spot that is walking distance from the downtown scene, has free parking, great breakfast, free wifi, endless supply of coffee, but something that I have not seen in other reviews is mention of the large deck off the back. This is a great place to have a glass of wine before heading out for dinner.

We stayed at the Attwater twice in one week. The first night, as we were arriving to the area, we choose the King suite which was comprised of two rooms on the 3rd floor. Very nice space with plenty of room for everything. Remember this is an old building with no elevator, so pack light.

The second time we came through Newport we stayed in a Queen room on the third floor which was much smaller. We did have to shuffle the bags around a bit but we did have a lot of stuff.

We would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and for mentioning our back deck! Shaded by trees and quite large with comfy furniture, it's an amenity we wish more guests would take advantage of! We greatly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to delighting you even more the next time your travels bring you to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at The Attwater in Newport. We arrived late after a long drive and Brad was waiting for us and checked us in very quickly. We stayed in a King Suite room on the second floor. From the moment we walked in to check out we felt so welcomed and like treasured guests. Our room was lovely, had all the amenities, coffee maker, robes, i pod docking station, apple TV. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. We loved having the two room suite with a sitting room where we could relax. Even the housekeeping staff were excellent. Our room was organized and spotless each afternoon when we walked in from site seeing. We were given an iPad to use with all the local info preloaded. The information was very helpful and we were able to plan our mansion visits, a sunset sail and dinners quite easily.
Breakfast was delicious! We loved the scones and freshly baked goods. If you see the lemon ginger scones grab them quickly and eat one for me, simply heavenly. Sadly I only got one! The only negative I could add was we had a family with 3 very noisy children directly above us the first night we were there. We were awakened to screams and tantrums very early the next morning. A few words to Brad and he quickly asked them to quiet down. All in all it was a wonderful stay, great location and delightful visit! Can't wait to return. Still dreaming about those lemon ginger scones...

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the top floor to avoid noise from neighbors above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
So nice to hear that you had a delightful stay for your anniversary and that you enjoyed our many amenities, comfy beds and personal service. We look forward to your next visit and promise to have lemon ginger scones for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We decided to stay here on our "mini-moon" after getting married this past weekend. After reading the reviews on tripadvisor and being in touch with one of the managers, we decided to book at the Attwater. We have had a glorious stay and are sad to head home. We stayed in the king suite on the third floor; what a spacious and fabulous room. It was clean, large and updated nicely. Each morning, there was a nice variety of pastries ( try the lemon ginger scone made by Meg- delish) along with some other nice breakfast staples. Coffee and a nice variety of tea are also served all day. Another one of the managers (Brad) recommended some great places to eat and to visit. He also answered all of our questions with a smile! Do yourself a favor and eat at Talulah on Thames (foodies only). Finally, the location is fabulous. Just got back from the cliff walk and downtown is a short 5/10 minute walk. Free parking can't be beat! Hope to come back for our anniversary and make this an annual visit. Thanks Brad and Meg for making this such an enjoyable stay after such a special day in our lives!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are so glad we could make your special day even that much more special with the perfect mini-moon! We pride ourselves on our amenities, decor and service, and Brad and Meg don't disappoint. We are so pleased that you were able to relax and enjoy your recent commitment in our stylish Newport hotel and look forward to helping you celebrate your anniversaries in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We are driving the east coast and stayed at the attwaterinn. I found the inn on trip advisor and glad I did. The rooms are clean and have everything you need. The bathrooms are small but work well. The beds are very comfortable!!(sometimes hard to find). They serve a nice small breakfast. There is free parking. They even give you an iPad with suggestions of where to eat, things to do, and anything else you may want to find in the area. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for writing and sharing your thoughts on your stay. We're so glad you found our beds comfy. We take a lot of pride in giving our guests a wonderful night's sleep at The Attwater!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Atwater in Newport. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast and all day cafe. The king suite room is like having your own apartment. The inroom iPad is perfect for planning your day. Great location as well, and it's nice having parking where you can walk to most everywhere. We will be coming back.

Bob R.

Room Tip: The king suite rooms on the third floor are quiet and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks for your recommendation and for sharing your guest perspective on our large king suites. Apartment-like is a nice description for our sizable Newport hotel suites! We are so glad you enjoyed our flexible all-day cafe, iPads and the service of our resident managers, Megan and Brad. Please visit The Attwater again when you visit Newport next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport
Attwater Villa Hotel
Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith and Jetsetter so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Attwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.