We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini-moon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Attwater

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Attwater to your Saves list
The Attwater
22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Sneak Away Deal
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Branford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mini-moon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We decided to stay here on our "mini-moon" after getting married this past weekend. After reading the reviews on tripadvisor and being in touch with one of the managers, we decided to book at the Attwater. We have had a glorious stay and are sad to head home. We stayed in the king suite on the third floor; what a spacious and fabulous room. It was clean, large and updated nicely. Each morning, there was a nice variety of pastries ( try the lemon ginger scone made by Meg- delish) along with some other nice breakfast staples. Coffee and a nice variety of tea are also served all day. Another one of the managers (Brad) recommended some great places to eat and to visit. He also answered all of our questions with a smile! Do yourself a favor and eat at Talulah on Thames (foodies only). Finally, the location is fabulous. Just got back from the cliff walk and downtown is a short 5/10 minute walk. Free parking can't be beat! Hope to come back for our anniversary and make this an annual visit. Thanks Brad and Meg for making this such an enjoyable stay after such a special day in our lives!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are so glad we could make your special day even that much more special with the perfect mini-moon! We pride ourselves on our amenities, decor and service, and Brad and Meg don't disappoint. We are so pleased that you were able to relax and enjoy your recent commitment in our stylish Newport hotel and look forward to helping you celebrate your anniversaries in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    48
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
153
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We are driving the east coast and stayed at the attwaterinn. I found the inn on trip advisor and glad I did. The rooms are clean and have everything you need. The bathrooms are small but work well. The beds are very comfortable!!(sometimes hard to find). They serve a nice small breakfast. There is free parking. They even give you an iPad with suggestions of where to eat, things to do, and anything else you may want to find in the area. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for writing and sharing your thoughts on your stay. We're so glad you found our beds comfy. We take a lot of pride in giving our guests a wonderful night's sleep at The Attwater!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Atwater in Newport. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast and all day cafe. The king suite room is like having your own apartment. The inroom iPad is perfect for planning your day. Great location as well, and it's nice having parking where you can walk to most everywhere. We will be coming back.

Bob R.

Room Tip: The king suite rooms on the third floor are quiet and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks for your recommendation and for sharing your guest perspective on our large king suites. Apartment-like is a nice description for our sizable Newport hotel suites! We are so glad you enjoyed our flexible all-day cafe, iPads and the service of our resident managers, Megan and Brad. Please visit The Attwater again when you visit Newport next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked a room last minute at the Attwater. It was a spacious suite on the top floor (all that was available) with a comfortable sitting room and capacious bedroom with a king bed. The decor is modern and eclectic but extremely well done. An excellent breakfast with many choices--not your standard bacon and eggs and home fries. All guests are provided with an I-pad with a map and local food options. The waterfront is within walking distance as are many of the old Newport homes. We would certainly go back if there were space available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad we impressed you with our services and amenities. Our designer will love your description of our decor -- "modern and eclectic but extremely well done." Please stay with us again when your travels bring you to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We celebrated our recent anniversary in Newport and stayed at the Attwater- and it was a great experience! Breakfast was adorable with homemade scones, our suite was incredibly designed and comfortable and the staff were incredibly welcoming. Hands down we will be staying at the Attwater the next time we are in Newport!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
It was lovely to have you visit for a special occasion and to help you celebrate your anniversary. Thank you very much for your kind words about our comfy and beautifully decorated rooms and breakfast items. Pleas visit again soon -- for your next celebration of simply a getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Highly recommend this small hotel in Newport. Great location away from the touristy area but still an easy walk. Great eating options within walking distance. Great decor and comfortable sitting room downstairs.Our room 3rd floor at the back on left hand side was quiet small, so maybe research room sizes available. The airconditioner was very noisy. Breakfast was adequate but could benefit from less "sweet" options and more protein based options. Be aware there are 2 flights of stairs if this may be an issue for you.

Room Tip: enquire re room sizes as ours was a bit cramped. cant remember the room number but it was 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the decor and guest lounge. We appreciate your review. Our petite queens are the smallest of our room types and are indeed intimate. We endeavor to accurately name and describe rooms and provide square footage on our website. We hope you can try one of our 500-square foot King Suites upon your next visit to The Attwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This lovely boutique hotel is ideally situated in Newport, only a short stroll from the shops and restaurants. The room was modern and clean with a really comfortable bed. The shared areas were all beautifully decorated and maintained. The complimentary breakfasts, cakes and coffee were great. The hotel runs a point system for the snacks and breakfast which means you can eat as much or as little as you want for breakfast and use your remaining points for a snack later. The wifi reception was a little patchy on occasions but as it was complimentary it wasn't a problem. Parking is provided next to the hotel and in an overflow car park next to the art gallery across the road - a real bonus given the location. We stayed 3 nights and would happily return or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the comfy beds and flexible breakfast and snack experience. We hope to see you again the next time you "cross the pond."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#2 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Attwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.