We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect anniversary get-away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Attwater

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Attwater to your Saves list
The Attwater
22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Sneak Away Deal
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Seekonk, MA
1 review
“perfect anniversary get-away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have been to Newport many times and always find something new we love there. This time it was the Attwater. The up-scale decor drew us in, but other intangibles made it a wonderful stay. The greeting we received upon arrival, the comfort of the room, the lovely array of breakfast chioces, and the friendly inkeeper, Rob, and the "tucked-away-but-convenient location" were all part of a memorable experiece. Oh, we have never been given the option of the use of an Apple tablet before. Very cool way to check out the town's offerings. Newport is a great city made better by this new addition,the Attwater.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
It was a privilege to have you stay with us for your special celebration. We are pleased that our decor drew you in and our services and amenities made your anniversary visit that much more memorable. We hope you come again soon - whether for another occasion or simply a quick getaway to relax and restore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    48
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
153
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sayville, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Attwater hotel is a great boutique hotel in Newport. We stayed here while going to the Newport Food & Wine Festival which we highly recommend. My wife and I have been to Newport a few times and usually stay at one of the B&Bs. Attwater was a refreshing break from the colonial-style places. We really but walking distance to all. The breakfasts at the Attwater cafe were great. A nice selection of fresh food as well as great choices of egg dishes and scones, all fresh. We consider ourselves good judges of food and Attwater was a nice step above the regular bacon and egg breakfast. We also like that we have our own table at breakfast. The rooms at attwater follow the design of the hotel, modern and clean. We stayed in the petite queen which was roomier than expected. There is still a small fridge and coffee maker as well. This hotel is seems a bit pricey, but its prices are well worth it and on par with other prices in Newport. As far as the staff everyone was great, Rob (name?) the host was always gracious and very easy-going. He really made the stay feel personal. When we go back to Newport, we will definitely stay at the Attwater.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
So nice to hear that you enjoyed the Food & Wine festival! We are thrilled with all of the wonderful foodie events in town and are looking to the upcoming restaurant week in November. We are also quite pleased that our bold modern decor was a nice change for you from the colonial places that dominant Newport. We love living up to our "unconventional" reputation. Rob will be happy to hear that you appreciated his gracious and laid-back service, as well as his breakfast stylings! Please do stay with us again when your travels next temp you to New England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We spent 3 nights and the Attwater. The hotel is spotless and the decor very modern. Our room was a little on the small side but really comfortable and bedlinen was supersoft!! Cannot fault the hotel in any way - service great , breakfast good and being given given an I-Pad on checkin for use during the stay was a great touch. Have to go and buy one now!! Location is perfect - quiet but very close to everything. Loved Newport and if we go back , would definately stay at the Attwater again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We should get a commission from Apple for hooking you on the iPad! Isn't it a great tool for planning things to do while on vacation? Thank you for your nice review and for letting us be your lodging destination in Newport. We look forward to your next visit at The Attwater!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

the Attwater is beautiful, clean and has impeccable service! The hotel is nicely decorated, a short walk to town and the manager Rob helped us with every request we had. the beach bags and chairs were a nice touch. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We look forward to your return visit. Thanks a million for your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertville, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I spent a night at the Attwater for a quick weekend getaway. We were impressed with the cleanliness and beautiful decor. Our room was beautiful and the bedding was incredibly soft and comfortable. The staff/owners were very friendly and helpful. The cafe served delicious breakfast pasteries. The Attwater is a perfect walking distance to local attractions. We would stay here again in a heartbeat and would recommend it to anyone. Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Attwater for your quick getaway weekend. We are so glad you visited and took advantage of all our boutique hotel has to offer. We appreciate your kind words about our staff, baking skills and lovely decor. Please stay with us again the next time your travels take you to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had a relaxing 3 night stay at The Attwater. I chose this hotel because it had great reviews on all of the travel sites I checked and the modern design on the website looked so nice! The ipad & apple tv was great and the breakfast was delicious! The room (king suite) was gorgeous and loved all the furniture and decor (I actually want to find out where they purchased the curtains in the main living room!). Since we were a party of 3, we used the sofa bed and it was comfortable (very high end furniture). Loved the cute black & white tiles in the bathroom, but maybe could need some improvement. Location was excellent (only a 5 minute walk from the main street of restaurants & shopping) and I liked the fact it had a private feeling. It was also close to the cliff walk (Rob at the front desk provided us a beach bag with towels and water so we can bring it to the beach). Overall, we had a wonderful experience with a warm staff and superb service. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
It's great to hear some feedback on our comfy sofa beds! Thank you for your kind words on our location, design and service and your thoughtful, detailed review. Our drapes were custom-made for us through our interior designer, Rachel Reider. Aren't they wonderful?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I chose the Attwater based solely on their sharp website and was very pleased. My girlfriend and I stayed for 3 nights and had a great experience. The room (king suite) was great, the breakfast was ample and delicious, and the staff were helpful and welcoming.

The hotel is well situated a short walk from Bellevue Ave, the waterfront, good restaurants, etc.

They will give you a parking pass for their specific parking area and if you park there you won't get towed (like I did - totally my fault not the hotel's).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thanks for the props on our website! So glad you had a great stay despite being towed. Next time, please do take advantage of our free guest parking area. We greatly appreciate your nice comments and recommendation to others. Please make Newport a regular getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#2 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Attwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.