We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time Newport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Attwater

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Attwater to your Saves list
The Attwater
22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Spring Deal!
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Billerica, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“first time Newport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Attwater is simply INCREDIBLE for its price! i'm a stickler... travel a lot on business, not too much for pleasure but when i do, very important to feel "pampered." thus, often costs me megabucks, and i dont earn megabucks, i'm a college professor! SO many wonderful touches about Attwater made it great. stayed in a king room, quite fine! coffee, refrig, wonderful high deck where we had a bottle of wine ( no license bring your own, FINE selection one block away). wonderful lounge, great breakfast room. we will definitely be back! 5+ stars, people~

Room Tip: king was excellent. coffee, refrig, quick access to deck, nice breeze (didnt need room's AC).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you, professor! We love hearing the word "incredible." Our staff strives hard to make guests feel pampered. We realize this is your special time away and want you to make the most of it. So glad you enjoyed your time lounging on the deck with your bottle of wine. It really is a special spot under the trees. We are thrilled we made your first visit to Newport memorable and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    49
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
33
160
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I booked last minute at the Attwell and absolutely loved it. Very inviting, great decor, comfy bedding and the outdoor patio was great. Owners very friendly!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
The outdoor lounge is such a nice, relaxing haven isn't it?! So glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We loved our stay there! Incredibly helpful friendly staff, very clean rooms, the complimentary iPads were a nice treat (pre-loaded with a ton of helpful Newport information), great location, and had a wonderful complimentary bakery. We would highly recommend the Attwater. We miss it already!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Well, we miss you, too! Thanks for your lovely review and for recommending us to others. We're so glad you enjoyed our amenities, friendly staff and central Newport location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We loved our stay at the Attwater. Rob and his wife were really kind and knew lots about the area and damn can they bake!! The breakfasts and treats were delicious! We liked that it was away from the center a bit - it was a nice walk down the hill to the main drag in Newport. The bed was sooo comfortable, the tolietries luxurious, and the touches in the hotel and the room were super cute. The website advertises the fact that there are Ipads in the rooms - this was not the case - they did have a dock - but you needed to bring your own Ipod, Iphone, or Ipad. We look forward to returning to the Attwater again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We are so glad you loved your stay at The Attwater and appreciate your kind words about our staff and baking abilities! The pastries are dangerously good are they not?. Also, let me apologize that you were not offered your iPad upon check-in. We do have them for every room and not offering you one was an oversight on our part. We are ironing out our procedures to ensure that this doesn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This had to be the nicest inn we have stayed. We loved the altrachic decor. Our room was clean and stylish. The bed was comfortable. We loved the cafee. The food was superb. The staff was friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Wow! Six exclamation points! Thanks so much for your great review. We are go glad you enjoyed your stay and the amenities at The Attwater. We look forward to your return visit, as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Modern chic hotel with best hotel host I have ever had. I believe Rob is the actual owner, and he always made sure we had a great day planned out. He was very knowledgeable about the area, and gave great recommendations. I enjoyed the modern and chic look to the hotel compared to some of the older B&Bs that Newport had to offer. Very comfortable beds and nice amenities.

Great treats and options for breakfast and snacks. Less than a 10 minute walk to wharfs. The only thing that was not 100% seemed to be a couple details that were related to the newness of the Inn - Rob seemed to already be addressing the ones I noticed. I was going to mark the value as only four stars, but compared to area hotels, B&B, and Inns I thought it was well worth the money.

It was a fantastic stop on my honeymoon around New England.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Well, you got Rob blushing! We are so glad you joined us during your honeymoon trip through New England. We strive every day to continue making The Attwater better and better for our guests and we appreciate your thoughtful review and comments. Please make us a stop next year on your anniversary (if not before)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Be dazzled by the chic and stylish decor;
Appreciate the convenient location;
Enjoy the tasty breakfast choices;
Revel in the warm hospitality; and,
Delight in the personal attention of the owners and staff.
That's what makes the newly renovated Attwater a a place we recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Well, that is very poetic! Thank you for your recommendation. We enjoyed having you stay at The Attwater. Love the photos you posted! Come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newport
#2 Spa Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Attwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.