We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benjamin's

Benjamin's
254 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6613
(401) 846-8757
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We've been coming to Newport every Summer for seven years and never noticed Benjamin's. We tried it on a local's recommendation. Fantastic lunch that was reasonably priced. We will definitely eat there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    187
    39
    26
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't eat here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Don’t eat here if you required to eat gluten free. They refuse to accommodate you in any way and are extremely rude! We walked out and will never go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“What a deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Get there before 7PM and they have some amazing deals.1-1/2 lb lobster was $13.95 and it was sweet as sugar. King cut of prime rib for $16.95. Great food bargains..even on the regular menu. Fish is excellent. Casual. Great location. One of the best food deals we found in this great city. You go upstairs to dine!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“If you like raw bars....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We loved this place and went twice. Very local feel to it even though I'm sure it is flooded with tourists. Service was great. The place was crowded but we had no problem getting a table and were comfortable. My husband loves raw oysters and I LOVE raw clams. Had them both days with a pint of Guinness (of course). The menu looked interesting also and if we weren't obsessed with the whole raw bar thing, I would have liked to try some of the other items. We did try both the NE Chowder and the Rhode Island Chowder - excellent. RI chowder for people who don't know is NE Chowder without the cream - yeah on calories. BONUS the raw bar is signifcantly reduced between 12 and 2pm. Oysters regularly $2.25 were $1 and Clams regularly $1 were $.50.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Locals' Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Been staying in Newport for over 20 years and walked by Benjamin's hundreds of times but never tried it. Was told not to miss breakfast, lunch or dinner but especially on Tuesday when oysters, shrimp and clams casino are $1 each. Good good, nice staff and friendly people. When we asked the guy at the next table if he was eating wings he told us no they were frog legs and insisted I try one. I never had one before and it was delicious!! Will be sure it is a stop now every year!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjamin's also viewed

 

Been to Benjamin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benjamin's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.