We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here now!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franklin Spa

Franklin Spa
229 Spring St, Newport, RI 02840-6826
401-847-3540
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Go here now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

After a couple days in Newport, we wanted a local spot for breakfast that wasn't pretentious and pricey. Franklin Spa was recommended to us. My spouse was skeptical because it had "spa" in the name. He was thinking spa cuisine. We discovered a fabulous breakfast spot and went there two days in a row. On Sunday we had a 30 minute wait for a couple seats at the counter which were the best seats to watch the action! This place was hopping. We feasted on stuffed blueberry French toast and lobster omelet. Both wonderful. Day 2 we had biscuits and gravy and smoked salmon eggs Benedict. Delicious. The service was attentive. Bring cash--- no credit cards. The Spa's ambiance is the lack of ambiance. It's about the food and good service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    44
    25
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“My wife was expecting a massage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

But we went there for breakfast. I had a lobster omelette. My wife had an omelette and a fruit bowl. Wow! Quaint old place. Great food! Not cheap, but well worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Low key but amazing breakfast spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon Franklin spa as another place that we had tried to go to was closed. So glad we did! Perfect and low key breakfast. The muffins are out of this world good. We came back twice :) happy we found this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good, generous breakfast among the locals.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This is off the tourist path and worth the walk. Great coffee and interesting New England takes on some breakfast classics (lobster Eggs Benedict). Omlets are generous. Service is attentive. Breakfast for 2 about $30.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Scrumptious Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Sunday breakfast was tasty, reasonably priced with large portions. The fruit smoothies are delicious. Service is prompt and attentive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin Spa also viewed

 

Been to Franklin Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franklin Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.