We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Parrot Restaurant

Red Parrot Restaurant
348 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6602
401-847-3800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 177 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
London, England
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lively atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We dropped in here as we were tired at the end of a long day, and it was close to the B&B. It was rammed at about 6, and we had to wait 20 mins for a table. Service was great, and food portions huge. Fish was overcooked though, which let the overall experience down.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    368
    127
    34
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, warm atmosphere, decent price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stopped in Newport on our way to NYC and wanted a place that offered fresh seafood and food for the non-fish-love, and the Red Parrot satisfies that well. The atmosphere is warm and relaxed with lots of wood over three floors. The menu was extensive with lots of options. In fact the biggest issue was choosing how to have lobster. I ended up with Monsta' Lobsta' BLT. Served between thin focaccia it was piled high with chunks of fresh lobster. Two friends ordered from the raw bar and were served 8 large oysters for 16 bucks. The lobster ravioli was tasty, albeit very heavy. The pasta dishes are generally good for two. Service was friendly and not too fast, but that served us well because we were not in a rush. Will definitely be going back next time in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Innovative, fun menu- casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Red Parrot has one of the most extensive, creative menus of fun food you'll see. The food is very reasonable as well. If you enjoy lobster, just a couple of options are a lobster quesadilla or a generous lobster salad in a tortilla bowl. Many, many seafood options. My husband and I enjoy the Red parrot several times during the summer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A first visit to the Red Parrot will be followed by others, I hope. A day trip to Rhode Island for a tour of the stately old mansions there led us to this restaurant for lunch. It's a bit pricey....$12-$15 for a hamburger....but the food was superb and the portions were generous. The service was excellent as well.....water glasses refilled without having to search for a server, being asked if refills of coffee or soft drinks were wanted, extra napkins provided promptly. I certainly will go there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Newport restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding everything! Our waiter (Dineen) was amazing! He is a class act-provided stupendous service!! Food was delicious. We have lived in New England for over 50 years and the Calamari was the best we have ever had. If you are visiting Newport-don't miss this gem!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Parrot Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Parrot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Parrot Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.