We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit... always great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Parrot Restaurant

Red Parrot Restaurant
348 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6602
401-847-3800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 204 restaurants in Newport
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Return visit... always great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've been here many times and go every time I'm in Newport. It didn't disappoint and we even got to sit by the windows on the second floor and people watch while we ate. Nice cool breeze coming in off of the ocean. I had the coconut shrimp... my favorite :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    280
    291
    108
    31
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cromwell, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Red Parrot Restaurant - Eclectic Menu, Good Eats, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Red Parrot Restaurant is conveniently located in the heart of the action in Newport.
Deceptively large, the place has 3 floors for dining - all with a nice decor: wood floors fireplaces, and bar service on the first and second floors.
The menu is extensive with about 20 pages to look over - apps, seafood, steaks, ribs, pizza, salads, pasta, sandwiches, etc. Try the lobster quisadellas as a starter - a nice twist on Mexican with a New England flair. All dishes were of ample size, quality is excellent, and the price for ritzy Newport is reasonable (at least for our lunch).
Also, the service is efficient and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Family Friendly and Consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've been here a couple of times and its always a great place to get a quick bite to eat when in Newport. Its location is good and more importantly, you can bring a stroller with you. The service is fast so you can get in and out pretty quickly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
“male host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I went to The Red Parrot on Sunday June 2nd with a few friends and I was very impressed. The male host was awesome, he knew what he was doing...very confident and had a great personality. It was also very nice to see a male hosting rather than all girls. Food was wonderful and overall I give the Red Parrot a 10 out of 10!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Chain restaurant feel in Newport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The Red Parrot, despite its prominent location on Thames St, is at best a downtown variation of American chain restaurants. There is nothing on the menu uniquely "Newport" in terms of food or drinks. There are many other local options around. The prices are decent and the food was good for the value, but it was the same kind if fare that you can find in any restaurant in suburban America. The view on the harbor and on Thames street is nice and the wait staff was friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Parrot Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Parrot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Parrot Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.