We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Parrot Restaurant

Red Parrot Restaurant
348 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6602
401-847-3800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My family visited this place twice as it was across from our hotel so it was convenient. My son ordered lobster quesadilla and lobster ravioli and loved them. My husband ordered hamburger both times and he likewise said it was good. My first visit I ordered skinny girl pizza and couldn't eat it as it was was way too hot with too many hot chilies. I sent it back. They didn't charge me for it which was nice of them. The second visit I ordered tropical salad with chicken in a edible bowl. The salad was wonderful and didn't need the chicken (kind of fatty) or the bowl. I left both behind. Both times we sat onthe 2nd floor. The last time we had a window which was nice to see the sunset. The service as excellent and very accomodating.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    344
    123
    33
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Setting and Food, Highly Recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My family and I were in Newport on vacation (visiting Boston mostly) and recently visited the Red Parrot. We chose the place based on the rustic (yet renovated) look. The menu is comprehensive and service very good. Burgers were outstanding and my wife had a salad and chili that also were tasty. The old school look inside and out fits the town nicely but the building has been restored to the point where it felt slightly upscale. On our way out I asked if I could buy a pint glass (I collect them) and the bartender Mark winked and tossed me one. The icing on the cake for me. I loved this place!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went for a quick bite - lunch-ish - and it was fine. Just fine. Not sure with all of the other great options that I'd choose the Red Parrot if I had it to do all over again. BTW - we ordered calamari and soup - the service was slow (1:30 in the afternoon) and we got the wrong calamari....

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good, but Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Extensive menu and reasonable prices. Food was well prepared and came quickly. Quality was surprisingly good for such a large selection. Recommended.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, N.Y.
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good food, nice view, pricey, tourist trap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a delicious lunch with friends here, in the midst of the Newport Boat Show. The show brought in a lot of other folks, so getting in here and getting seated quickly was a pleasant surprise. Good food, pleasant staff, beautiful view and decor. We'll go back, armed with the knowledge that we'll be paying strongly for the privilege, and not grudging it. Too much.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Parrot Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Parrot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Parrot Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.