We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Bar Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brick Alley Pub

Brick Alley Pub
140 Thames st., Newport, RI 02840-6621
+1 401-849-6334
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: At Brick Alley Pub we have it all: "pub style" comfort food to modern multicultural cuisine all served with genuine down-home hospitality. Like America itself, Brick Alley is one big melting pot of ethnicities, flavors, and fun. If you are looking for stiff, over the top formal service with small portions of over-priced food, we are not that place. After more than 30 years as one of Rhode Island's most popular restaurants with locals and tourists alike, the Brick Alley Pub & Restaurant has earned landmark status. Located at 140 Thames Street across from the Brick Market Place in Downtown Newport the Brick Alley Pub & Restaurant offers a warm and cozy fireplace in the winter and comfortably air-conditioned dining rooms in the summer. The Brick Alley Pub & Restaurant specializes in a blend of flavorful steaks, fresh local seafood, pastas, and seasonal specials. Begin your dinner with a selection from our cocktail menu or choose a wine from our extensive wine list. This wine list features over 250 different vintages and has received the Wine Spectator Award for Excellence. Open for lunch and dinner, Brick Alley Pub & Restaurant accepts reservations and offers an upstairs function room that can accommodate up to 170 people. The Brick Alley Pub & Restaurant has received favorable reviews from countless local and national publications including: The Providence Journal, Travel-Holiday, Ford Times, Rhode Island Monthly, and Newport Life Magazine. In addition, Jameson Irish Whiskey bestowed the restaurant with their "Best Irish Coffee Award" for three consecutive years and inducted the Brick Alley Pub & Restaurant into their Hall of Fame. Brick Alley has also been featured on The Food Network and is a favorite of Boston's Phantom Gourmet.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Upscale Bar Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

It's pretty basic, upscale bar food. Good for burgers,wraps, salads and things like that. very casual...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    468
    127
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Casual with varied menue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Has sandwiches and dinners. Great food. Casual attire is fine. Reservations are recommended as its very busy

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We always eat here once or twice when we vacation in Newport. Their food is excellent and they offer a good variety to please all the tastes within a group. We have always had above average service. It is well worth the visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Newport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Fourth time I have eaten at the Brick Alley the last several years and it has never disappointed. Nice friendly service. Excellent sandwiches. My wife had the large lobster roll with tons of fries, cole slaw and a pickle. She loved it. I had the Bruchetta Sandwich of buffalo mozzarella, tomato, basil and a balsamic reduction on a very nice roll with a side ceasar salad. It was fantastic. Drinks were cold, full and service was always there for more. Great place to sit at the bar and watch the world go by.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trainer,Pa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a very good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Since I always go through the reviews here on Trip Advisor before going away I had earmarked this place. We picked this place to have our first dinner in Newport. We are not fussy people so we were not looking for a fine dinning white tablecloth restaurant. The Brick Alley Pub was a real winner in our book. We felt the prices were affordable and the atmosphe fun. My hushband is a big eater so I figured he would like the salad bar that comes with the meal. He also started out with the littlenecks and enjoyed every bite. The salad bar had a very nice mix of items and all seemed fresh.My husband had the stuffed sole and I had the swordfish with the piccata sauce. Both items were large and quite good but I think mine was the best. If we were in Newport again I would return in a heartbeat. The service was another plus , our waitress was excellent and made us feel very welcome .

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt_romafarms, Owner at Brick Alley Pub, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
wifey21,
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We strive to provide great food, exceptional value, and do it with friendly efficient service. I look forward to your next visit. Please contact me if you think of anything that we could improve to make your next experience even better.
Sincerely,
Matt Plumb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brick Alley Pub also viewed

 

Been to Brick Alley Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brick Alley Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.