We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Beech Tree Inn and Cottage to your Saves list
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
34 Rhode Island Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
Plymouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a great experience at Beech Tree. The room was very quiet, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was quite good and served quickly. It's a little bit of a walk from downtown, maybe 15-20 minutes. We had bikes but the uphill ride back was tough. My only complaint was the price. I know that Newport is expensive, and Beech Tree was comparably priced, but it just seemed high for a B&B off the beaten track. We only stayed there because it was the last place available for the nights we were going We would have preferred to stay downtown, and the prices were the same, they were just sold out. That said, Beech Tree was really very good and we were pleased with the room and service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    21
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
82
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saline, Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Loved our stay at Beech Tree Inn. Very homelike, clean home, pet-friendly, great breakfast, welcoming host & we will definitely return again when visiting Newport. Thank you for allowing dogs. Your dog goody bag was great!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We love the Beech Tree Inn! We've stayed here several times over the years and find it comfortable and friendly. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated with extras like the jacuzzi tub and fireplace. This time we stayed in a suite (203 in the main house), and we enjoyed the extra living room and our own deck - the birds in the backyard were fun to watch too.

The owners are so friendly and breakfast was delicious - particularly the blueberry pancakes!

I highly recommend this for anyone looking for a relaxing home to stay in while in Newport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend away! What a fantastic place to stay. The staff was so friendly, the room was cozy and comfortable. The breakfast was sooo yummy!!!!!!
We loved Newport and hope to come back soon! Thank you for a wonderful weekend.
Jessica & Albert Clark.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Overall my family and I enjoyed a 3 day stay at the inn. The owner Jim was very friendly and accommodating and the staff was also friendly and efficient. Our room was large with 2 bedrooms, fireplaces, couches, jacuzzi, etc. we had a great breakfast outside on the patio.
The inn was only 5 minutes drive from the waterfront in a quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in mid-June 2013 and the experience was very disappointing.
Firstly, nobody to greet us although the room is easy to find. Not what is expected of a friendly family run B&B. Towels were not changed once during our stay, not even folded or hung up. The bed was shabbily made up in the mornings....sheets not straightened, pajamas left inbetween the sheets in the middle of the bed, covers really crumpled, leaving a "lumpy" effect on the bed as if a child had clumsily tried to make the bed. No vacuuming of dusting or cleaning.
Another couple staying here at the same time confirmed the same experience. We believe the Inn is for sale...whatever good will the name has had in the past is being eroded. The lack of caring and interest by the owners is apparent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed for two days in June and this was our first stay at the INN, but not the first in Newport.
We were in one of the Queen Rooms on the second floor which was reasonably priced. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. Nothing lavish at all, but clean and perfectly nice. Since it is essentially an old house you can hear your neighbors on occasion, but with the AC on there was no problems sleeping.

The Innkeeper was extremely friendly and accommodating. We arrived early and just asked if we could park in the lot and walk to town. However, our room was ready and they let us check in 3 hours early. Breakfast was nice, but on par with other B&B's we have stayed in.

The one caution I would give is that although you can walk to town and we did, it is somewhat far. It was almost a mile to Bowens Wharf. We don't mind walking, but doing it a few times a day does get tiring. The other recommendation to the Inn would be to have more comfortable chairs on the patio so you can enjoy the nice garden area.

Overall a nice stay, but would likely not stay here again soley based on the location to town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beech Tree Inn and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Address: 34 Rhode Island Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beech Tree Inn in Newport, Rhode Island is a wonderful New England bed and breakfast offering charming accommodations including spacious guest rooms, relaxing Jacuzzi tubs, and warm, inviting fireplaces. Every morning you are greeted with a scrumptious full breakfast, and our location in Historic Hill makes for convenient access to the area's shopping, dining, and other excellent attractions. Look online to learn more and to book your stay with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Beech Tree Inn and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Inn And Cottage Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beech Tree Inn and Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.