We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pet friendly gem in Newport!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beech Tree Inn and Cottage to your Saves list
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   34 Rhode Island Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 99 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brookfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A pet friendly gem in Newport!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

we went to Newport during the winter festival weekend in February. we searched for a pet friendly inn and stumbled upon this gem. the Inn keepers were extremely friendly and accommodating. they even gave us extra bacon in the morning for our Izzy. very spacious comfortable room, with a fireplace and a whirlpool tub the size of a kids pool. the French toast was to die for! centrally located for ease of access to all of Downtown Newports attractions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    24
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
92
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Niantic
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We recently returned to this inn for a couple of days in winter. We find it relaxing, welcoming, and comfortable. The staff was wonderful, helpful, friendly and accommodating. We love going there as we always feel special. Breakfasts are wonderful, and they serve a variety of choices, healthy selections, and just about anything one would want. Our room was comfortable, and so was the living room, with its fireplace, and inviting furniture. The ability to make a cup of coffee/tea when you want to in the dining room is a real plus for us, and reminds us of our trips to UK where they have the hot pots in the room. We are looking forward to returning sometime to this inn (best to do it "off-season" though as Newport can get crowded and pricey, everywhere.)

Room Tip: If you are short in stature, ask for a small bedroom step stool, as beds are quite high, very comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I went for a long weekend after Christmas and stayed at the Beech Tree Inn. The owners were so welcoming and a joy to be around. Our room, a king with patio/fireplace/jacuzzi, was comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was soooo great! Eggs and home fries especially delicious. We didn't want to leave and absolutely cannot wait to get back to Newport and are planning another summer weekend at the Beech Tree.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights over Thanksgiving and found the inn to be comfortable, clean, and friendly. The owners were try dog lovers and did not charge an exorbitant fee for our pet as do some supposedly pet-friendly hotels.
The breakfast was very good. Atmosphere was welcoming and comfortable.

Definitely recommend and will return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed the first weekend in December. While I thought the room was a bit pricey, it was the best price I could find! WOW is Newport expensive!! We stayed in a king room on the second floor. Bed, two chairs, dresser, TV, two end tables, and an electronic fireplace. The bathroom was nice with a jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was good. You get a choice- eggs, pancakes, omelet, French toast. The coffee was excellent! The walk to town was quick, about 10 minutes.
Overall it was a really nice B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Even we reserved online and show up less than 15 minutes later we were received by the friendly face of Jeff, who gave us a master suite with a fire place, a terrace and a jacuzzi. The free breakfast is huge and delicious. The rooms are clean, the whole house is beautiful and well maintained. It is located in a quiet street, just a five minutes walk to the shops and restaurants in Newport. The bathroom is well fitted with quality products. It is a much rewarding experience than a chain hotel.

Room Tip: A nice New England experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

very comfortable beds with nice cotton linens. super clean. very accommodating staff. we upgraded to a suite in the cottage. both rooms we stayed in were great. excellent homemade breakfast included in the price. can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Beech Tree Inn and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Address: 34 Rhode Island Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech Tree Inn and Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beech Tree Inn in Newport, Rhode Island is a wonderful New England bed and breakfast offering charming accommodations including spacious guest rooms, relaxing Jacuzzi tubs, and warm, inviting fireplaces. Every morning you are greeted with a scrumptious full breakfast, and our location in Historic Hill makes for convenient access to the area's shopping, dining, and other excellent attractions. Look online to learn more and to book your stay with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Beech Tree Inn and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Inn And Cottage Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beech Tree Inn and Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.