We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Beech Tree Inn and Cottage to your Saves list
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
34 Rhode Island Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
Niantic
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We recently returned to this inn for a couple of days in winter. We find it relaxing, welcoming, and comfortable. The staff was wonderful, helpful, friendly and accommodating. We love going there as we always feel special. Breakfasts are wonderful, and they serve a variety of choices, healthy selections, and just about anything one would want. Our room was comfortable, and so was the living room, with its fireplace, and inviting furniture. The ability to make a cup of coffee/tea when you want to in the dining room is a real plus for us, and reminds us of our trips to UK where they have the hot pots in the room. We are looking forward to returning sometime to this inn (best to do it "off-season" though as Newport can get crowded and pricey, everywhere.)

Room Tip: If you are short in stature, ask for a small bedroom step stool, as beds are quite high, very comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    21
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
79
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I went for a long weekend after Christmas and stayed at the Beech Tree Inn. The owners were so welcoming and a joy to be around. Our room, a king with patio/fireplace/jacuzzi, was comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was soooo great! Eggs and home fries especially delicious. We didn't want to leave and absolutely cannot wait to get back to Newport and are planning another summer weekend at the Beech Tree.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights over Thanksgiving and found the inn to be comfortable, clean, and friendly. The owners were try dog lovers and did not charge an exorbitant fee for our pet as do some supposedly pet-friendly hotels.
The breakfast was very good. Atmosphere was welcoming and comfortable.

Definitely recommend and will return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed the first weekend in December. While I thought the room was a bit pricey, it was the best price I could find! WOW is Newport expensive!! We stayed in a king room on the second floor. Bed, two chairs, dresser, TV, two end tables, and an electronic fireplace. The bathroom was nice with a jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was good. You get a choice- eggs, pancakes, omelet, French toast. The coffee was excellent! The walk to town was quick, about 10 minutes.
Overall it was a really nice B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Even we reserved online and show up less than 15 minutes later we were received by the friendly face of Jeff, who gave us a master suite with a fire place, a terrace and a jacuzzi. The free breakfast is huge and delicious. The rooms are clean, the whole house is beautiful and well maintained. It is located in a quiet street, just a five minutes walk to the shops and restaurants in Newport. The bathroom is well fitted with quality products. It is a much rewarding experience than a chain hotel.

Room Tip: A nice New England experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

very comfortable beds with nice cotton linens. super clean. very accommodating staff. we upgraded to a suite in the cottage. both rooms we stayed in were great. excellent homemade breakfast included in the price. can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This place was amazing and I highly recommend it! I went with my boyfriend and small dog this past weekend, we were in Newport for my college roommate's wedding. I'm so happy we decided to stay here. It was our first time staying at a bed & breakfast and hopefully our first of many stays here! Our room, a deluxe king, was beautiful. We had a balcony overlooking one of the gorgeous beech trees in the front yard, a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom-in addition to a large shower, a gas fireplace, and lovely furnishings. The daily breakfast was delicious and offered many selections cooked to order. Eggs, omelets, pancakes, famous french toast, fruit, pastries, coffee & tea...mmm!! The best part of this inn though was the staff that went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. The innkeeper, Jim, was so kind to us and our dog, who has bad separation anxiety. He went out of his way to ensure our dog was happy while we were out at the wedding. He is a true dog lover and an amazingly kindhearted soul. We will return just to see his friendly face again! Thank you so much Jim and all the friendly staff at the Beech Tree Inn for making our stay perfect. You guys are great and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beech Tree Inn and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Address: 34 Rhode Island Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beech Tree Inn in Newport, Rhode Island is a wonderful New England bed and breakfast offering charming accommodations including spacious guest rooms, relaxing Jacuzzi tubs, and warm, inviting fireplaces. Every morning you are greeted with a scrumptious full breakfast, and our location in Historic Hill makes for convenient access to the area's shopping, dining, and other excellent attractions. Look online to learn more and to book your stay with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Beech Tree Inn and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Inn And Cottage Hotel Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beech Tree Inn and Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.