We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Solid Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salvation Cafe

Salvation Cafe
140 Broadway, Newport, RI 02840-2748
401-847-2620
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Salvation Cafe offers fireside dining in the winter and award winning al fresco dining in the Summer. Voted "Best Restaurant, Newport" by Providence Phoenix 2012 & 2013. Our summertime raw bar menu is available in our outdoor tiki bar. Enjoy a lobster roll & our famous Coconut Mojitos or join us for Sangria & Sunsets after a day at the beach! Parking is available in lot behind restaurant.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Solid Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A funky, late night spot that we hit up for dinner and drinks. I'm amiss to all the dishes we ordered but what I do recall was lobster & pasta, mussels, and a fish dish (?). Either way we enjoyed everything and the drinks.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    69
    22
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Terrific Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We tried this restaurant on the recommendation of our B&B host and really enjoyed it. It is outside the tourist area (but walking distance) and has a fun ambience with really good food. We will go again the next time we stay in Newport.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I went to school nearby, and came here many times on Saturday nights with friends. The design is eclectic - and it works. There was a stuffed chicken on a fleur de lis lampshade on one of my visits, and somehow the whole place still looked put together. The service is great, friendly waitstaff, an they are quick even when it gets busy. Some servers seem to have an attitude when they see groups of young people because they assume they won't be tipped well, but that never happened here. I recommend either the caesar salad - it is made with kale, but shredded very fine so it isn't too chewy, and instead of croutons there are crunchy breadcrumbs - or the pad thai - the portion size is massive and it is worth every penny. Definitely a little pricy but worth it, and you have leftovers. Dessert may be better than dinner, especially the chocolate banana pockets that melt in your mouth.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value in Newport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We have been eating at this restaurant every year during the Newport Folk Festival, and this year we were a party of 9. The reservation was handled perfectly and we were seated at a great table right up front. Compared to many Newport establishments, this place is very reasonable, especially for the quality and creativity of the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Insider's Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Hands down the best kept secret in Newport! Great food, local ambiance, interesting triple bar scene including a summer garden and rooftop. The solid menu ranges from a heavenly short ribs burger with savory truffle fries to grilled catch of the day. Summertime line-caught sea bass is a menu delight, served in a "lobster nage." Take note, local Atlantic bass feed on molting baby lobsters giving their flesh a sweet crustacean flavor. The appetizers are varied, creative, never boring. Modern standards like the kale caesar salad will have you asking, how did he or she make that? The mark of truly great cuisine is blending ingredients to create unique satisfying flavors. I've eaten my way through the entire menu without ever having a bad meal. The wines and craft beer selections represent the work of a talented sommelier eager to complement the chef's artistry. Full disclosure; I'm a native Newporter who grew up cooking in local restaurants and then traveled and worked far and wide. Bottom line: forget about expensive mediocrity in the downtown restaurants and seek salvation for your palate here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salvation Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Salvation Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salvation Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.