We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic meal from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salvation Cafe

Salvation Cafe
140 Broadway, Newport, RI 02840-2748
401-847-2620
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 177 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Salvation Cafe offers fireside dining in the winter and award winning al fresco dining in the Summer. Voted "Best Restaurant, Newport" by Providence Phoenix 2012 & 2013. Our summertime raw bar menu is available in our outdoor tiki bar. Enjoy a lobster roll & our famous Coconut Mojitos or join us for Sangria & Sunsets after a day at the beach! Parking is available in lot behind restaurant.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A fantastic meal from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I had dinner at the Salvation Cafe during our 2-day Newport getaway. We had trouble deciding what to order - the menu, though not huge, was filled with extremely interesting options. We decided to start with the pork belly pizza, which was absolutely delicious - the flavor combination was unexpected and the naan on which it was cooked had just the perfect touch of char. My oxtail bolognese with gnocchi & lemon riccotta was rich and flavorful - I had to restrain myself from licking the plate. My husband ordered the pork with smoked polenta, and he was equally pleased. We shared the apple walnut bread pudding for dessert, and it was a perfect end to a fantastic meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewportBuddy, Owner at Salvation Cafe, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanks so much for your positive review! I really appreciate you taking the time and helping us out. Hope to see you again soon. ps I'm jealous that you live in Philly, you have so many great bars & restaurants there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    72
    23
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Broadway Winner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

In a very good mood after seeing a very funny show around the corner at the Firehouse Theatre, we finished the evening with some tasty food and good drink here.The Salvation Cafe is a pretty happy place and kept our good moods up.

The food was very good and included some nice twists on traditional favorites. Service was fine and the drinks were well done. We'll be back and will recommend it to friends.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“sadly very average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Service was completely disinterested and perhaps even a bit aggressive. Could not believe the owners would staff with people like this. The food was completely average except the autumn salad which was very good. Oxtail pasta dish was muddy and pasta overcooked. the mousse lacked punch and character. the new addition looks nice and the rehabbed outdoors looks great but overall i wont be running back there anytime soon at all. Too bad, restaurant week is a time for people to leave their favorite haunts and try new places, we did, but we are going back to our old haunts... I have to rate poor for the combination of service and average food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Always a good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just went to Salvation for the first time since they reopened- and it's better than ever! The menu is a refreshing change, and everyone enjoyed what they had. The pad thai, though maybe not 100% authentic thai, is always a hit. And the renovated space looks great, especially the back room. This is a change from the usual Newport tourist trap, and definitely worth checking out!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very unique place with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This place is very artsy. The whole restaurant has a quirky, yet interesting design (even the bathrooms have their own theme). They also have a cozy area outside with a fire pit and big bar. Upstairs they have a nice dining area that resembles a ski lodge (big wooden ceilings and walls). Anyway, the food here is awesome. Nothing too pricy either... Calamari was good and the short rib burger was very tasty and well prepared. I would definitely go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salvation Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Salvation Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salvation Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.