We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Midtown Oyster Bar

Midtown Oyster Bar
345 Thames Street, Newport, RI
401-619-4100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was our second visit to this establishment. The first time (June 2013) we sat at the bar and enjoyed some drinks and appetizers. The bar staff was wonderful, providing excellent recommendations on wines and appetizers. Our second visit (Oct 2013) was with two of our adult children and we came for dinner. The place was quite busy when we arrived and we were told that the wait would be 45 min. No problem. The hostess took our cell number and said we would get a text when the table was ready. So wee waited near the bar and noticed a few open tables. After 20 minutes I asked the hostess if the empty tables were available. She said she tried to text us but I never received a text. She went to check about the open tables and was able to seat us. The texting thing needs to,be fixed, but everything else was great. Our server was friendly, helpful, polite. The food was delicious again. We were all pleased.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    86
    19
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped here....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Nice menu, great servers, was seated immediately. Everyone ordered seafood. Did not have appetizers. Great atmpsohere, with a 3rd level where you can sit outside.

Only thing I was disappointed with was portion size. The grilled shrimp orders contained pretty good sized shrimp, but not a lot of them. Nice seafood variety.

GOod wine selection. Presentation of food was good, tasted good, and served hot. Desert portion size was also very small.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great service! Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stopped here for drinks after checking into our hotel. The bartender who was so very friendly let us sample so beers. I settled on Shipyard Pumpkin Ale. The bartender served it with the rim covered in a sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon blend. It was so yummy. We came back the next day after the Octoberfest and had a seafood tower and more yummy beer. The bar/restaurant is 3 stories with outside seating on the second and third floor. We sat on the 3rd floor. There are heaters. It is a beautiful modern place. You can sit on the other floors before 5 but there is no service. After 5 there is service. A definite place to come while in Newport!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lunch ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were seated right away by a quite teenager. We ordered the mussels with fries which was different but yummy. I had the mahi mahi sandwich and my husband has the Ruben sandwich with fired egg.

We sat on the second floor which had a barn type feel. Food and service was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food...small portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great atmosphere, food and staff, but the portions were very small for the price and it took a long time to get the food when the dining room was quite empty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midtown Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Midtown Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midtown Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.