We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good Italian food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Luisa Restaurant

Mamma Luisa Restaurant
673 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6738
(401) 848-5257
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Winchester
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really good Italian food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a traditional Italian restaurant - good food and homely. Our waiter was outstanding. He was knowledgable, very helpful and extremely pleasant to deal with. If I didn't live 3500 miles away I'd be a regular.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    76
    32
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, so-so food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I dined here last week for an early dinner midweek. Our waiter was great and we had a good start to the meal with a very nice bottle of wine and the bean soup for an appetizer. My husband had the veal special, after all the rave reviews we expected great. The veal that was served was colorless and tasteless. I was surprised at the presentation or lack thereof. I had two selections of pasta, one was so salty (I love salt) that it was almost inedible, the other was the bolognese which was just okay. We loved the dining space and the atmosphere, but the food would not warrant a return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, ct
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great italian restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is one of my favorite italian restaurants to go to. Every time I come to Newport, I usually come here for dinner at least one night. I am a fan of their tomato sauce, so any dish you get that has it will be wonderful. Also set on the cobblestone strip in town so it has a great atmosphere. Get there early because there is sometimes a wait for seating!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“From a Local, being Treated by out of Town Guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Cozy, wonderful food and aromas, professional service, and a sense that you really are in Italy! Very special.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice small Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The restaurant is an old house and there are seatings in various small rooms, including upstairs. The food is authentic Italian, homemade, fresh and DELICIOUS! This was our first visit. The bolognese is their signature dish and after eating it we know why! The veal chop with the porcini mushrooms was well worth it, the most expensive dish on the menu. The tiramisu and cappuccino was a great way to finish off the meal. We will be back! They take reservations and on Monday and Tuesday some of the bottles of wine are half off!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Luisa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Luisa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Luisa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.