We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tastiest ravioli I've ever eaten, and I've eaten a lot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Luisa Restaurant

Mamma Luisa Restaurant
673 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6738
(401) 848-5257
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tastiest ravioli I've ever eaten, and I've eaten a lot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

My wife and I had an light, early dinner at Mamma Luisa's in Newport, R.I., on a Thursday in late December. We both ordered the butternut squash ravioli. It was cooked perfectly (al dente), and served with a light cream sauce and pine nuts. Absolutely delicious. I wasn't hungry, or I would have ordered a second plate! The serving size was adequate, and the price was moderate. We sat at a table in the downstairs room, which is romantically decorated in the style of a country trattoria - lots of old photos on the walls, ivy, etc. My wife grew up in Naples, Italy, is difficult to please when it comes to Italian food, and she liked it, too. Service was excellent. My only criticism is the parking. They have 5 poorly-lit spaces behind the restaurant, which were already full when we arrived at 5:30. However, there is on-street parking. I don't think I'd recommend this restaurant for families with children, but for anyone else, if the ravioli's any indication, it's a treat.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    77
    32
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Mamma Luisa Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We went at 5:00 (opening time) and were told they were full (we didn't have a reservation, we thought at 5:00 would be no problem). We were told to wait a few minutes and they would see if they could squeeze us in. While we were waiting, a few more people came in without reservations and were sent away...... so we waited just a short time and then they gave us a table letting us know they needed the table in about 1 1/2 hour - which we said was absolutely no problem! We had a lovely meal - loved the coziness of a restaurant in a "house". Food was yummy and reasonably priced. Totally recommend if you are in the area - but call for reservations first!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Magnificent !!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I was in Newport Ri the other day looking for a summer rental when my real-estate agent recommended an Italian restaurant for dinner. Well this was one of the best Italian restaurants i haver eaten in. I live in NY and there are many great Italian restaurants here. Well now you know of one in Newport and its NOT in Providence. The service was great, the food was great and so was the atmosphere. Its a house converted into a lovely comfortable restaurant located right on Thame st. Just outside of all the crowds. I was there on 11/29/2011 The following day i went by to take a photo of the place it was just a great little place.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Italian Wine Selection!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Very cozy and romantic. Excellent service. Bolognese is definitely worth ordering. The rolled pork was o.k. We would not order it again. The mixed greens salad with goat cheese and walnuts was delicious. We will be back. Do not bring young kids. Too small and intimate an atmosphere. The stairs to the bathrooms are dangerously steep.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanson, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Decided to make reservations for four people for a Saturday night and had to provide them with my credit card number in order to hold our reservation. Parking is very limited, but we lucked out and found a spot. Everyone enjoyed their meals, we all especially loved the warm bread and dipping oil before dinner. Even though we were all stuffed we somehow managed to order desserts - and were very happy we did, since they were all excellent!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Luisa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Luisa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Luisa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.