We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can ignore the rudeness of one gentleman, then definitely eat here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Luisa Restaurant

Mamma Luisa Restaurant
673 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6738
(401) 848-5257
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Boston
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“If you can ignore the rudeness of one gentleman, then definitely eat here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

The food, ambience and service is very good here. It is a good 15-minute walk from the wave statue on Thames. We met a number of locals who frequent this restaurant and highly recommend it. It is a bit more "fancy" than other restaurants in Newport, so I wouldn't bring toddlers and I wouldn't wear flip flops and a T-shirt. The one sour note is the unwelcoming gentleman who is brusque to customers. Ignore him, and you'll have an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    77
    32
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We had a wonderful meal here last night. Cozy restaurant that was perfect for a nice dinner with the hubby. Dishes are made to order so there is time to sit back and enjoy a glass of wine and talk. Never felt rushed by our friendly server. Will defiantly go back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good food and nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Went to Mamma Luisa during Memorial Day weekend without a reservation. They were nice enough to seat us even though they had another party coming in about 75 minutes later . The only stipulation was we would finish before the next group came in. Our waitress made sure the food kept moving along so that we could be done, but we never felt rushed.

Their Pasta Bolognese was phenomenal. The veal chop I had could have used a little more seasoning or had the sauce over the chop versus just laying in a thin film of sauce. It was still good though the next time my guess is I will order pasta.

Overall a very nice restaurant away from the craziness of the downown area, with good value and terrific pasta.

We will definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Phenomenal employees. Casual and comfortable Italian restaurant that is rich in atmosphere. Higher quality food but not expensive.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“No Thank You.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

After reading the reviews on bad service here and talking to friends here in Newport, we stayed away from Mama's. However, hearing the food was wonderful, we made the decision to try it out on Christmas Eve. We phoned in our reservations 3 weeks in advance - and yes, even put down a credit card number to hold them. When we phoned in the reservation we asked specificially if they had high chairs (we were making an early reservation - 6 - because we have small children) and we would be guaranteed one. The gal who took the reservation assured us that we would.

Sidebar: the reason we ask about highchair is because we have a portable we can bring with us .. we understand some restaurants don't have them. And believe it or not, there are a lot of restaurants in Newport that don't .. most will actually go to another restaurant tho and borrow one if you specify in your reservation.

Okay, back to the story. Christmas Eve rolls around .. we show up for our reservation, all dressed up and pretty. Gentleman at the podium says "table for 4?" I say no, we have a reservation for 3 and a highchair. He gets a snotty tone of voice and says "we don't have any highchairs; the only one we had is already being used" - and points to another family that had just been seated.

I point out that we specifically asked for a highchair; he looks at his reservation book and says "nothing here."

So we leave.

And quickly realize that every grocery store in Newport closed at 6, so went home and figured something else out for Christmas Eve dinner.

Moral of the story? Some service reviews are being made for a reason!

  • Visited December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Luisa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Luisa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Luisa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.