We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbor view dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fathoms

Fathoms
75 Long Wharf, Newport, RI 02840-2406
(401) 849-7788
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 209 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Hudson, NH
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Harbor view dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Attended a conference @ Newport Marriott & went to the hotel restaurant for dinner with colleagues. It was convenient. Service was slow & the place was not busy. The warm rolls were very good. Rye bread rolls, unexpected. Crispy on the outside & warm & chewy on the inside. Apps were good. Shrimp & oysters were plump & fresh. 2 crab cakes for $12. They were good & served with a remoulade sauce on top. They had a special menu for buy one entree, get lesser or equal free the night we went. There were about 5 selections to choose from on the special menu. One of us got the steamed lobster. Another got the scrod & 2 got the prime rib. Generous portions. Prime rib was overcooked but still quite good. One side comes with meal. salad & other sides extra. We shared a creme brulee & something like a fried whoopie pie quartet for dessert with chocolate dipping sauce. Drinks were generous.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good for a hotel restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had dinner here and the prices were reasonable. We had calamari which was tasty and fish & Chips for our entree. The fish & chips came in a cone shaped basket for $13.00. There were several pieces of fish where was very light and tasty. The fries was nice, but only ate a few as the calamari & fish filled me. It came with cole slaw, tartar sauce & ketchup on the side. The price was very reasonable for what we received. The atmosphere was very nice and relaxing. It was not loud so it was great for conversations and it overlooked the harbor. The waitress was great and gave us great service. I will also go back here again when in the area also! Other entees were in the $20 range.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We all had seafood and the little fishes were probably swimming in the ocean the day before we ate them. The interior is stylish in a simple way. It overlooks New Bedford Harbor with fishing boats coming and going, passing through the bridge that opened for them. It was our first visit and won't be our last. The service was exceptional. In the summer the deck would be a great place to dine.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The food was surprisingly good for a hotel. The cod, baked stuffed potatoes and julienned veggies were all excellent.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good restaurant overlooking the yard harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Fathoms is the Marriott hotel restaurant offering decent meals for a good price. The bar serves drinks with a view and the staff s always very friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fathoms also viewed

 

Been to Fathoms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fathoms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.