We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long time favorite for dining - lessons learned” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
1 Sayer, Newport, RI 02840
(401) 846-2260
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mooring is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 177 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: America's Cup Ave.
Description: The ideal embodiment of Newport dining: the freshest seafood, al fresco seating, expansive harbor views, and warm hospitality. Our award-winning wine list is one of the most acclaimed in New England.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Long time favorite for dining - lessons learned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We've gone to The Mooring over the last 10 years and find it dependable for a good meal. This last time, we went for there on Sat. before father's Day, having made our reservation and location request several weeks before. It was very hectic and so we didn't mind the 20 min. wait.

However, although we requested window seating for 6, we were placed in the middle of the lower room surrounded by 2 tables of men celebrating a BACHELOR's party. I learned 2 things from this experience, 1) speaking up here gets results - they immediately moved us after our request for a change and graciously as well; 2) the men from the Bachelor's party left when we did and they were much better behaved during their entire celebration/meal than ANY Bachelorette's dinner we've evere had to endure in a restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    372
    115
    47
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterfront view!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a quick light dinner. We ate outside on the deck and the view was beautiful. He had the Oyster Po'Boy. The oysters were over breaded and slightly overcooked. The sandwich bread fell apart after the first bite. She had the Crab BLT. The avocado was a nice addition to the flavors of the open-faced sandwich. It was very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner! Very good lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I'll start by saying I would have given this restaurant 5 stars except for our server at lunch time who seemed to have an attitude problem right from the moment she came to our table and I asked for water. We had been waiting for several minutes at our table before she arrived. Other people who came in after us had already been greeted and given water. Other than her unpleasant service, we enjoyed our lunch. The Scallop chowder was very good and creamy with plenty of scallops. Our chopped salads were also good. Our evening dinner on a previous night was definitely excellent. Our server, Sky, was very personable and made excellent recommendations. We both enjoyed the pan roasted Halibut special of the night and the Banana Cake. We don't usually order dessert but had to try this yummy cake after he raved about it. Sky's service made our evening very special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A great harbor view to dine at sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great view at sunset. The bar is nice with a great view and lots of seating. You can eat off the bar deck that is fun. Restaurant can be noisy when busy. Food was good, crab cakes very good and lobster croissant really nice.

Appetizers fun and menu does have specials.

Local with lots of tourists which keeps it busy. Have to pay for parking in the lot

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Consistent good food - a bit hectic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I go here often for special events (birthdays) Used to be the birthday person got a free entree - now that person needs to have a rewards membership ... all good things in life seem to change. Food was good - they are willing to adapt plates as needed - View is of the marina. Great service. It seems to have gotten more frenetic - not the atmosphere I am looking for usually. Maybe because it is summer - I usually avoid downtown Newport in the tourist season....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mooring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.