We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is the hit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
1 Sayer, Newport, RI 02840
(401) 846-2260
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mooring is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 209 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: America's Cup Ave.
Description: The ideal embodiment of Newport dining: the freshest seafood, al fresco seating, expansive harbor views, and warm hospitality. Our award-winning wine list is one of the most acclaimed in New England.
Holland, PA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The view is the hit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a great place to stop in for a fun meal during the day when the view is at its best. A bit overpriced for dinner and while so beautifully appointed, it falls into the disheartening category of seafood restaurants that want to keep the old Newport seafaring tradition alive by tearing down all the old traditional buildings and crafting ones that meet today's expectations of nautical character. The food is good, the service excellent but nothing you couldn't get at a Red Lobster in Nowheresville, USA. OK, the Bag of Doughnuts (lobster, crab & shrimp fritters) is pretty darn good with a cold beer but you can get these just about anywhere in Newport so don't make a special trip here just for these. In talking with others, this place is great for a lunch or mid-day snack - the soups are good and warming. So enjoy a light meal here and walk around the town for places that have more of the real Newport charm (though frankly, these are becoming harder to find each year).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    372
    115
    47
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Certainly better Than avg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went to dinner and it was quite fine. The bag of doughnuts is a Mooring stable for apps. My girl had the tuna tartare it was healthy portion but not clear ruby red but good. I had the fish and chips and the fries while tasty are extremely(extremely)salty - not necessary at all. The fish was a large chunk but I prefer lighter batter so just ate the fish out of the shell and it was good. My lady had the pork belly and really enjoyed it. Overall I think in this day and age they should error on more flavor and less salt. And I think the days of very thick fish crust fried in oil has past it's time. A nice environment and friendly staff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
“Well Worth the Expense”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I went for our two-year anniversary. Yes, it was expensive for us, but we loved the food, location and atmosphere. We both ordered seafood dishes which were tasty and beautifully presented. Our table overlooked the water, which in January meant it was difficult to see anything. I imagine it is quite beautiful in Spring/Summer and can't wait to visit again when next I'm in Newport.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food even better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Went with a group - service was excellent, food fwas really good - loved the rolls in a bag - would absolutely return again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott, Connecticut
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Night on the Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My Husband and I love to eat out. We heard good things about the mooring and we figured that in January it wouldn't be that bad; mainly filled with locals. Well the locals brought their kids. LOTS of them. And they were kind of loud and the parents really didn't seem to care. After they left the place quieted down but it still wasn't fun to scream over appetizers.

Overall we thought the food was delicious. I had the scallops and cocktail shrimp. Great wine selection. And ofcourse the seafood is really fresh.

Go later at night and you should be ok. Our reservation was 7pm on a Friday. But during the week I'm sure isn't bad.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mooring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.