We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Large Parties” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Forge Casino Restaurant

La Forge Casino Restaurant
186 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3515
401-847-0418
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 204 restaurants in Newport
Price range: $0 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great for Large Parties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I made a reservation for eleven people and asked for the porch with a view of the tennis courts. They accomodated us without a problem. The menu had a broad variety at a very reasonable cost. I had the fried clams. They were great. Took me back to childhood days in the summer on Cape Cod. Service was excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    32
    51
    21
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Great clam chowder on a chilly rainy day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stopped here as we were passing by after touring The Elms mansion. The clam chowder was excellent. We split a wonderful salad. We sat by a window on the enclosed porch overlooking lawn tennis courts. It was nice to sit here even though it was a chilly October day and there was no tennis match at the time. The service was excellent, especially considering a very large group had come in prior to us. We would definitely come here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Quintessentially Newport !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile


We had visitors from Australia staying with us and we wanted to take them somewhere for a''quintessential Newport-Lunch Experience'. If the weather had been nicer we would have opted for somewhere with an ocean view. But it was dull damp day... 

My family enjoyed finding this place when we first moved to Newport last summer year and so we thought our friends would also like to try the La Forge. As expected, it proved to be a really enjoyable 'lunch experience'. 

Our server (Brian) was a very full-on character - very engaging, friendly and super-obliging. 

The menu offers fairly traditional 'local' - New England cuisine... a little old fashioned, but nice large portions of good tasty food. Our friends really enjoyed a superb Lobster Bisque. They said the Clam Chowder was good too !   The 'Baked Onion' soup was an awesome 'meal' in itself.  We also tried some 'Fried Clams' and our first 'Quahog'!  Costing $90 for five us (including drinks), the lunch proved good value. 

A great Newport venue - the La Forges is the perfect place for something memorable or different - especially for taking out-of-town visitors. Highly recommended for lunch.  

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Tennessee
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great atmosphere on the grass tennis court. Food was good and service was top. Try one of the house specialty drinks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Superb Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This restaurant is superb in atmosphere, service and food. Whether by yourself or in my case of taking 100 senior citizens as a group they were spectacular. The food was served to all 100 at the perfect temperature as ordered; chef is awesome! View and pub type restaurant with linens fit perfectly. You won't be sorry unless you pass this restaurant by!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Forge Casino Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Forge Casino Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Forge Casino Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.