We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food very good, service so so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Forge Casino Restaurant

La Forge Casino Restaurant
186 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3515
401-847-0418
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $0 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Food very good, service so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stopped by after tennis at the tennis museum thinking that the restaurant would be as great as the museum. We were promptly seated, but then no one appeared for a long time. The service was very slow and the waitress appeared to be otherwise occupied. When the food came, it was very good. We had the lobster bisque and lobster salad and were not disappointed.

The outdoor seating gives a wonder view of the center court.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    64
    28
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average food horrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stopped by at 3:00 in the afternoon for a late lunch. All of the food was very average, I had one of the salads, nothing special. The place was empty, but every time our waitress came over she seemed put out to be bringing us anything. Then when we got the bill, she added a 20% tip. The group was three adults and three kids, I have never experienced an automatic tip for such a small group. I would not have minded if the service was better. It almost seemed like she knew the service was bad, so she decided on her own tip.

There are other great restaurants in town, I would recommend avoiding this one.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Has a nice variety of tasty pub foods but the service was poor. We had the Ruben and the quesadillas and both were well made.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“For a pub, excellent seafood.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

My mother and i stopped for dinner after a long, long walk on the cliff walk. This was a nice surprise with really nice service. Even the wait for the food was not that long. Cute little restrooms were nice and clean. But it was the food that was excellent. I had stuffed crab and my mom had the salmon. Both really good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The food was phenomenal and our waitress, Beverly, was awesome! One of the best restaurant experiences I have had!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Forge Casino Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Forge Casino Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Forge Casino Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.