We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Bouchard

Restaurant Bouchard
505 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840
401 846-0123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Bouchard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 209 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: At Bouchard Restaurant, a warm relaxed ambiance and gracious welcome signals your arrival. The restaurant serves fine French cuisine in a 1785 Georgian-style house.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

While in Newport, do not miss this place. Our food was outstanding starting from the homemade bread to amazing soup and appetizers to main course and dessert. The tomato tart was probably the best appetizer I have ever had. The chef's expertise is in making really tasty sauces which accompany every course including dessert, and it shows. My husband found himself pausing between bites, not quite believing how good the food actually was. My deconstructed chocolate cake was out of this world. Our servers were all really great too - each one was very nice, friendly and personable -- not at all "stuffy" as some reviewers have reported. The only issue was actually getting a reservation, so be sure to book early!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    61
    21
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Elegant & Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our meal at Restaurant Bouchard was simply outstanding. The service was first class. The menu was terrific and the food was beyond great. If you want to eat at the best restaurant in Newport, this is the place. Make reservations in advance, it will be worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal, Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you get to Newport and want a memorable meal, this is the place to go. It does have a dress code (we saw people in shorts being turned away at the door). I would strongly recommend the place to anyone who likes great wine, and well prepared food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Terrific on Thames”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I always look on TripAdvisor before going somewhere and look to see the top rated restaurants. For Newport, RI, The Bouchard House was rated #1 and rightfully so. We booked Bouchard for our last night of three and we did save the best for last. Many of the restaurants along Thames St are pretty much fancy beer and burger places but the Bouchard is elegant and classy. Hence, you should dress appropriately(no sneakers, jeans, shorts, etc). The service is doting and courteous with Max being terrific. We were two couples and we all picked different appetizers, salads, entrees and desserts and we each totally enjoyed the dining experience. Yeah, you're going to pay a little more than the Red Parrot or The Moorings but the experience is worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is certainly our favorite restaurant in Newport and makes our top ten list of all time. We love this little french gem! This was our second trip to Restaurant Bouchard and we enjoyed it even more the second time. The service is outstanding- attentive and pleasant- with a sense of humor and fun. I wish I could recall our servers name. He was oustanding and really made the whole experience. For the second time I ordered the restuffed roasted lobster and my husband had the duck breast, having had the cornish hens last visit. Again, we found ourselves teling anyone who would listen how delicious our meal was and how great this restaurant is. A must if you are visiting Newport!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Bouchard also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Bouchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Bouchard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.