We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent French cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Bouchard

Restaurant Bouchard
505 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840
401 846-0123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Bouchard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 209 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: At Bouchard Restaurant, a warm relaxed ambiance and gracious welcome signals your arrival. The restaurant serves fine French cuisine in a 1785 Georgian-style house.
Windham, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent French cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Favors were balanced out perfectly and the food was the perfect temperature. We had the beef filet with Demi glaze with a hint of horseradish... Delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    61
    21
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We visited on a Saturday evening and the place was full. One reviewer said that it looks outdated, but I think that it is going with the theme of the old mansions. The service was impeccable and the food was beautifully presented and delicious. It is a little pricey and they request no jeans, but it was one of the best meals I have eaten in quite a while. The only negative thing that I feel the need to point out is that I overheard an encounter between the hostess and a young couple who had made a reservation through Open Table. The hostess could not find a reservation for them and was not apologetic and did not appear to attempt to find them a table. I would be sure to bring the email if I made a reservation through them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome French Throwback”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Ok so it seems kind of dated on the inside, a bit too much, textures, colors, frilly lighting, one part bordello two parts restaurant, but there the tackiness stops...Excellent, though slow service, terrific french food: definitely pricey but Squab! yes Squad on the menu! That's the kind of place it is. Great seafood, terrific sauces. Definitely great for a romantic dinner. Excellent food and great wine reccomendations from the servers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Authentic French classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

As guests at the Inn, access was easy. The owner/chef is able to produce exquisite and authentic dishes and sauces as in a restaurant in France. My wife started with Foie Gras with a raspberry reduction which was perfect, not too acid, not too sweet and then had poached Salmon which was also exceptional. My rack of lamb came with a wonderful sauce. I still am not used to the size of the huge Colorado "lamb" one finds in the USA - it seems more alpaca sized. A little gastronomic oasis. The wine list punches above weight

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I visited Newport for the first time this Memorial Day weekend and Bouchard's was where we ate the first night. The place was nice and the food was very good. They told us no jeans allowed, but we did see some people with jeans. I would recommend dressing it up a little or you may feel out of place. I had the re-stuffed lobster and my husband had the duck. They were both delicious. Overall the food and the atmosphere were great. Our waiter wasn't that great, but I think that was just him because all the other waiters were extremely attentive.

Would definitely go back and recommend to friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Bouchard also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Bouchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Bouchard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.