We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spiced Pear

Spiced Pear
117 Memorial Blvd, Newport, RI 02840-3659
401-847-2244
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Spiced Pear is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cliff Avenue
Description: The Spiced Pear’s primary dining room features an open-air kitchen, grand fireplace, and views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach. Well known for its signature ‘New England Tasting Menu’, the restaurant features a symphony of six or nine courses of local New England fare each night in addition to an a la carte menu featuring Continental cuisine.
New England
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“An excellent choice for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

A lot of high notes, but a couple of sour notes as well. The view on the patio is wonderful and the food was very good. Nice wine list. The missed note: we walked in and were asked where we wanted to sit. As it was a beautiful day we said on the patio. The woman said there would be a wait, but we could go to the patio bar. We sat down but there was no bartender. After waiting we went over to another maitre d’ who found the bartender, then he asked it we wanted a table. It seems one person controls the inside and one the outside and, at least that day, they were not communicating. We had to get on his list. In their defense, they did provide complimentary glasses of wine. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    45
    26
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nicest restaurant ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

My wife and I stopped by the Spiced Pear for lunch after taking the cliff walk. I read about it on trip advisor and was thinking of going there so we stopped in for lunch. The view was tremendous and we were able to sit down right away on the patio. We split a salad and a crab cake sandwich, both were amazing and perfect for lunch. The view was the best in Newport. We also chekced the inside out and it lookeed liek one of the nicest hotesl we have ever been to. The service was nice and not pretentious for how nice this lace was. Wanted to go back for dinner, but the menu is limited.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Price of the View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

I dragged my partner to the Spiced Pear. We had gone only once before, which is rare for foodies in a small town. We usually hold our noses for all but the worst restaurants and go with hope over experience.

She was relishing my potential failure. The wonderful phrase, "remember when you picked that awful place", is fun always a reliable tease. So at least I went with trepidation

Fortunately I was not tortured. The judgement was that it was adequate. The soup and the oysters were eatable. The fish well cooked and the desert, a crepe, well, let's just leave it with the appetizers and the fish.

The problem with the Spiced Pear is the cost. It is no doubt the most expensive restaurant in Newport and it fits my personal commandment that the better the view, the worse the food.

Great views are part of the price. The Spice Pear has one. So if you don't mind dropping over $200 for an alright dinner and a mediocre wine in order to seduce your partner with the beauty of the view, this place is for you

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Rhode Island
1 review
“Most Fantastic Dining Experience In Memory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

Four of us recently went for the 6 course tasting menu. Each course was creative and innovative without being "precious" which is a common problem with high end cuisine. The menu focused on in season and local ingredients and were prepared immecably with great attention to presentation although taste was supreme. Service was meticulous without being over bearing. We did splurge on the tasting menu but it was well worth it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport RI
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Reaching Too Far”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

We haven't been back to the Chanler for almost two years, after having some seriously unsatisfactory experiences with pretentious chefs (Richard Hamilton and Kyle Ketchum) who didn't quite live up to their own inflated sense of "greatness".
So, after hearing that the latest star chef had departed and the dining was better, we gave it a try with another couple. It was a mixed bag.
The pretentiousness has gone, but the prices remain too high for the value received. It's a good/average restaurant in Newport that is trying to promote itself as one of the best. It's not. They are an adequate hotel restaurant, but with a long way to go to be a memorable experience.
We had two bottles of wine we had to return, spoiled. We had luke warm soup, salad greens that had seen better days, entrees that were variable between excellent and just ok, and desserts that were fine, but not memorable. All this for a price that is among the highest in local restaurants.
The service was barely adequate, the server tried hard, but was simply inexperienced and not ready for a fine dining venue. The setting is wonderful, great views (we were there before daylight saving ended), though the furnishings are beginning to show some need for replacement.
Altogether, it is a big step forward from the former "circus" they had here, but they need to get their prices aligned with their level of food and service. We may try again next summer, for the outdoor dining at lunch, if they continue to improve their value.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenChanler, Manager at Spiced Pear, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Dear LocalObserver,

From all of us at The Chanler and the Spiced Pear, we thank your for your candid account of your dining experience with us. We are happy to hear that you feel the pretentious atmosphere has departed, as that has been a goal of of ours this year. For the areas we fell short, we actually had recognized them earlier in the season, and have taken steps to correct them.

In particular, we apologize for the inadequate service and wine experience. You may be excited to hear that at the end of this summer season, we began a full audit and rebuilding of a new wine program that concluded in November and also in November hired a new service manager with several decades of experience to ensure proper training and service from all of our staff. It is our hopes that you visit us soon - we are confident you will not be disappointed again!

Sincerely,
The Staff at The Chanler at Cliff Walk and Spiced Pear Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiced Pear also viewed

 

Been to Spiced Pear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spiced Pear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.