We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ribeye Ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille

22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille
Bowens Wharf, Newport, RI 02840
401-841-8884
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: America
Description: Located amidst bustling Bowen’s Wharf in the heart of downtown Newport, 22 Bowen’s Wine Bar & Grille is a world-class steakhouse serving USDA Prime beef, New England's finest seafood, and is complemented by an award-winning wine list. We look forward to having you experience one of Newport’s best.
Jersey Shore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Ribeye Ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

That's what my husband said about the special he ordered which was accompanied by a lobster risotto. 22 Bowen's is pricey but was the best dinner we had in Newport. It was packed but we were able to be seated outside on a beautiful night and enjoy people watching on this popular wharf.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    176
    60
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food was great but server truly excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We were in Newport for a few days and chose 22 Bowens because of its TripAdvisor rating. The food was great, but our server was truly excellent and made our experience really memorable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Hang out all afternoon, watch the world go by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We sat at the outside bar for several hours and thoroughly enjoyed anyone and everyone who joined us for drinks and conversation. A great spot to kill an afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Steak, Harborside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Not only is the food superb here, but the service and location are wonderful as well. If you're in the mood for some good seafood, lobster or steak, this is the place to go. In the heart of Bowens Wharf in trendy Newport, 22 Bowens is sure to please everyone. Looking forward to my next trip!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Great food & wine at leisurely pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We sat outside on the new covered patio. Although the wharf is busy, it is a nice place to sit and people watch. Our server was very good - professional, informed, gave suggestions, checked in. As others have mentioned, the courses do take quite a while to arrive. We never felt rushed, which is nice, but it did move a little slow.

The food was excellent: oysters were fresh and cold, burrata and heirloom tomatoes were delicious, steak and scallops cooked perfectly. There is a gluten-free menu available with a good amount of choices. The wine choices were fantastic - we loved the bottle of Querceto Chianti. We did not have dessert, but the coffee was great.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to 22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.