We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively atmosphere even on a Wednesday night! Great food, too!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarke Cooke House

Clarke Cooke House
1 Bannisters Wharf, Newport, RI 02840-3029
(401) 849-2900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 207 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lively atmosphere even on a Wednesday night! Great food, too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My co-worker and I stopped by for dinner based on a recommendation from a friend. We were told to do the sushi which is only offered in the summer. Since there was an open table right on the sidewalk, we opted for that. I really liked the lively atmosphere and the location. It's a great spot to get good food and to people watch in the summer time. I had a beer and the lobster with sherry cream sauce. It's really tasty, but very rich. It wouldn't be a regular dish for me. I would opt for one of the fish dishes the tables around me got next time. My co-worker had a few sushi rolls. He said his food was great, too. The service was friendly and efficient. Considering the restaurant was packed inside and we were sitting along the sidewalk, we never felt neglected. I would come back here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    113
    60
    20
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Seafood with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We enjoyed a great view, a fun atmosphere, good drinks, and delicious food. What more can you ask for.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice food, nice dog bar... The experience would have been excellent if there was a waiting list for the dog bar- not first come, first serve. People who just arrived at the place were stealing tables from those who came in first.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“a new favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We got tired of waiting for a table at the Black Pearl, and were enticed into the Candy Store porch level here and boy were we delighted! It was elegant and shady, but the service was top notch and the brunch menu was spectacular. We dined overlooking Bannister's wharf, every morsel of food was excellent-I had the blue cheese bacon burger, hubby had a seafood eggs benedict, Dad had seafood salad, Mom had an egg dish, all was superb. We enjoyed the live piano music playing while we ate. It all felt very gilded age...
We will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Classic Newport - did not disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a Newport classic. The restaurant has different sections and levels with different choices but seemingly the more stairs you climb the more elegant the food and prices get. We dined on The Porch and had a great meal in every respect. Largely seafood but a couple of other choices including a BIG steak. Good range of wines including reasonably priced choices.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clarke Cooke House also viewed

 

Been to Clarke Cooke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarke Cooke House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.