We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people watching spot for lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarke Cooke House

Clarke Cooke House
1 Bannisters Wharf, Newport, RI 02840-3029
(401) 849-2900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 203 restaurants in Newport
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brunswick, Maine
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Great people watching spot for lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I were in Newport for the long Colombus Day Weekend and enjoyed every restaurant we went to including this one. This was our Saturday lunch spot. We did not have a reservation and got a table upstairs overlooking the busy sidewalk below. Great people/dog watching! The service was very good. The menu was quite traditional and had lots of seafood options, that made me happy. I had shrimp cocktail and a mixed green salad for lunch. My husband had a burger. The shrimp was good, fresh, good size, but a bit pricey even by Newport standards I felt. The salad was very good, but it would have been nice for hit to have a few more things in it. Mixed greens was basically it. The wine by the glass choices were okay, not that many. You are paying a lot of the location, location, location and getting to sit with the windows open in October was great! I would go again and would recommend it for lunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    90
    88
    50
    13
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wethersfield, CT
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Newport Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a great lunch at Clarke Cooke house. I had the smoked salmon sandwich and the Newport Clam Chowder. She had the Butternut Squash Bisque and the Mussels. Everything tasted fresh and delicious. Friendly waiter with fast, efficient service. A wonder location by the waterfront. We'll definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I'd go again and again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

In fact, I have! My husband and I always visit the Clarke Cooke House when we go to Newport (once or twice each year). They don't change their menu much from year to year, but they do change it seasonally, and always offer several specials. Even when I order the same entree as the last time, it's always excellent!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Rhode Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“the sky bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I keep our boat in Newport for the summer season and frequent many resturants in Newport. The sky bar named after the skybar candy bar is on the second floor with open air seating and views down to the busy area of bannister warf. There is a great view of the harbor and many of the sight seeing boats leave from that area. The sky bar serves food the same menue as the clark cook house. food is excellent but pricy with portions fair. They have a very good susi bar and a variety of seafood and meats. service is good but not the most friendly of the waterfront facilities. Not my first choice but worth a try. It is also nice to visit in the winter.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a wonderful experience last night. There were eight of us and when you ave such a large group the timing and service seems to falter...but not here! The waiter was attentive and had perfect timing for every course. We shared the lobster ravioli and the mixed vegetables as the appetizers, then the mission fig salad, two ducks, two swordfish, two steaks and two red snappers, all we're delicious. But save room for dessert! The creme brûlée outstanding and the Snowball in Hell was out of sight. The ambience the setting you could not have asked for better. We all had a marvelous dining experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clarke Cooke House also viewed

 

Been to Clarke Cooke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarke Cooke House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.