We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY HERE!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff Walk Cottage on The Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliff Walk Cottage on The Sea
20 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 101 Newport B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“STAY HERE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I spent our first anniversary at Cliff Walk Cottage on the Sea. After spending hour after hour reviewing each of the various b&b's located in Newport, I ultimately choose Cliff Walk Cottage because it appeared to be very close to the Cliff Walk. Upon arrival, I realized I was mistaken yet pleasantly surprised because the home is, literally, on the Cliff Walk. The views of the cliff walk, coastline and beach are unobstructed and unmatched. Another pleasant surprise was the food and service. What was advertised on the website as "afternoon/sunset wine & hors d’oeuvres" should have read "relax on the private patio and watch the sun set over the coast while enjoying a bottle of the finest champagne and a table full of homemade hors d'oeuvres from onsite chef, Stuart." Another pleasant surprise was the "continental breakfast" was closer to a 4-course breakfast spread also freshly prepared by Stuart. Do not make the same mistake I made and spend your valuable time searching for that perfect place to stay. Call Stuart and Jennie and book NOW"

Room Tip: EVERY room has open views of the coast. Don't stress if a certain room is unavailable, simply b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millburn, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I feel very fortunate to have stayed at the Cliff Walk Cottage in late October 2012, and I can't say enough about the overall experience. The accommodations are spacious and beautifully designed, while offering up some of the most picturesque ocean views I've ever seen. We stayed in the balcony suite, which included a library/fireplace, bathroom and balcony with the views mentioned above. Jennie and Stuart were incredibly gracious hosts in every way imaginable, from the delicious breakfast spreads and the evening cocktails/appetizers- both excellently prepared and filling (so much so that we rarely felt it necessary to go out for lunch or dinner!)

We also found the location to be absolutely perfect. It was only a 15 minute walk into downtown (perfect for the cool, breezy weather we had) and just steps away from the cliff walk. We didn't use our care ONCE the entire trip, and took a different route each day to take in all the scenery.

Needless to say when we visit Newport again, we'll be sure to book this property! Thanks again Jennie and Stuart for making our weekend getaway truly memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

What a great weekend! We met friends in Newport and feel like we really lucked out with Cliff Walk Cottage. Jennie and Stuart were excellent hosts; their first concern was that we enjoy our visit and do it on our own schedule. The appetizers every evening and breakfast in the morning were outstanding and plentiful.
Every recommendation they made, for restaurants, activities such as a sailboat tour, and walks, was excellent. And the "cottage" is right next to steps accessing the Cliff Walk.
The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. In addition to our rooms, we had access to a large and comfortable living room; all rooms had views out over Easton Beach and the water. Wonderful artwork and decorating and the grounds were beautifully landscaped. We felt like guests, but also had our privacy.
We are not generally bed and breakfast fans, but if all b&b's were like this we could change our minds. I would not want to stay anywhere else on a return trip to Newport.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms - one is a lovely room with a queen bed and the other is a suite with a king. Bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

After a long drive from Pennsylvania, we were delighted to pull up to the Cliff Walk Cottage, perched directly on the ocean and the Cliff Walk. We looked forward to our stay because of the beautiful pictures posted on the inn's website but now, having seen the cottage up close and personal, can say that the pictures do not do justice to the property.

The Cliff Walk Cottage is all about the ocean. What was equally as remarkable was that we were only a 10 minute walk to the beach and a 15 minute walk to the downtown.

Jennie and Stuart are gracious and knowledgeable hosts. They went the extra mile to make a reservation for us in town and performed a rescue pickup of us, tired and exhausted, on Bellevue Ave, after doing most of the Cliff Walk on too hot a day.

And then there is the food, wine, and drinks... overflowing, tasty and filling! He and Jennie were so interested and involved in ensuring that we felt at home but were sensitive enough to allow us the privacy and quiet that we always seek in a destination.

In short, The Cliffwalk Cottage offers a package that is unequaled by any other inn and is a remarkable value. The Cliffwalk Cottage should/will acquire it place alongside the top.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

What a find! We were looking for a last minute getaway and found this charming Inn that has just opened. We were thrilled with every aspect of our stay. In fact, I am still full from the pre-dinner appetizers and breakfast the following morning.

The hosts are warm and welcoming. The rooms are lovely. The views and the sound of the waves are breathtaking. If you have a choice, request the room with the balcony. It truly is spectacular.

My wife and I both look forward to our return visit very soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife booked this remarkable "Cottage" for a birthday getaway and we cannot express enough what a remarkable time we had. First, prior to our visit, Jennie, (our hostess and owner of the inn with her husband Stuart) made sure that they had our favorite cocktails on hand and very considerately made sure to inquire of any food allergies. When we arrived and stepped inside, we were greeted by the spectacular view of the ocean as the cottage is literally on the water overlooking First Beach in Newport. The spread of hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon were so delicious and varied and they delivered them to our room which had a balcony that has to be seen to be believed. (Echoing the other reviewers, we ate a late dinner due to the hors d'oeurvres being so filling) The accomodations - words cannot do them justice. - beautifully appointed with a great library of books and the bathroom had either a tub for relaxing in or a modern oversized shower. Absolutely immaculate and spacious (with central a/c - very important as it was warm in Newport during our stay) We left the door to the balcony open at night and slept to the sound of the waves washing against the rocks. Stuart's special breakfast sandwiches were incredible, complimented by the fresh fruit and warm, fresh baked muffins. And the grounds are beautifully landscaped with a perfect size back yard which we are going to picnic in during our next trip. We have already made arrangements for next year to return and have been singing our praises of the Cottage to our friends - Jennie and Stuart are the epitome of gracious hosts - very kind and charming and we loved chatting with them during our stay. My wife and I agree that Five Stars is not enough!!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any of the rooms - they overlook the ocean - Amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahopac, new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

When we arrived, Jennie and Stuart welcomed us with trays of delicious hors d'oeuvres and cocktails. My husband and I were in Newport to celebrate our 48th wedding anniversary and the Cliff Walk Cottage helped make it a most memorable occasion. (hopefully we will be back for our 49th). The view, amenities, and charm, not forgetting our host, Jennie and her warm, endearing personality, make this cottage a "keeper." MORE THAN 5 STARS!!!! Love you guys, P & E

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cliff Walk Cottage on The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Walk Cottage on The Sea

Address: 20 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff Walk Cottage on The Sea is the only bed and breakfast in Newport, Rhode Island located directly on the Atlantic Ocean and the famed Cliff Walk, affording unobstructed, sweeping dramatic views across Easton’s Bay, and, as the locals call it, "First Beach." On a clear day, you can see Gay Head (Martha’s Vineyard) and the Cliff Walk all the way up to The Breakers from its upper level. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff Walk Cottage on The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cliff Walk Cottage on The Sea to your Saves list