We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal and Insightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Tour & Guide

Newport Tour & Guide
38 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02835
+1 401-864-0392
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We provide private driving tours of Newport, RI, the most historically intact city in the United States. Whether you are traveling alone, as a couple, or with thirty-five friends, Newport Tour & Guide offers an experience that is both relaxing and informative, providing a rare insight into this City by the Sea. Our guides are all local, well trained, and have a prodigious knowledge of Newport history. Our private tours include over a dozen opportunities to stop and visit historical sites, not just drive by. Our special license allows us unlimited versatility in both our tours and routes, and we can stop at a moment's notice for photography, culinary delights, rest stops, or shopping, wherever and whenever our clients wish. If there's someplace you want to spend more time, it's your tour, and your choice.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Personal and Insightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Took a bespoke tour with Tammy on a cruise port stop - and so glad we did.!! Picked up directly from the quay in a comfortable MPV and then given a real insider perspective into the history of Newport. Tammy knows her stuff and has a real passion for the town which comes through. Can't get better value for money (especially when compared to the cruise ship tour prices) - fixed fee for 3 hours for up to 4 people inc. entry to one of the houses. This works out c.half the price of the cruise rates pp for 4 of you, or the same cost for a highly personal trip for 2. No comparison! We smiled as we saw the coachloads of people unload, as we climbed aboard our comfortable vehicle!!! Highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walpole, Massachusetts
1 review
“Terrific Tour with Tammy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our tour of Newport was terrific! Tammy tailored our tour to our interests. She was interesting, very well-informed, entertaining and gracious. We were relaxed and comfortable, never felt rushed and weren't bombarded with information that we couldn't even process. The entire experience was lovely and easy. AND, we got snacks!! A fabulous way to see a charming city. We'll be back!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
“Historical, Fun, Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

August is our favorite month to be in New England and always includes a visit to beautiful Newport, RI. This year we found Newport Tour & Guides and have to say this discovery stepped our visit up several notches! What a fabulous way to see and learn all that Newport has to offer. Tammy was very knowledgeable; her presentation was lively and entertaining. Newport is steeped in history and this tour delivers. We are already planning next years trip and it will most definitely include a tour with Tammy and Newport Tour & Guides. We are looking forward to meeting Sam next time! We would recommend a tour with this company to anyone visiting Newport.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing tour of Newport!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This past May my boyfriend surprised me with long weekend away in Newport, RI. As I am an avid history buff, he booked a colonial tour with Newport Tour & Guide as one of my gifts. It was fabulous! We were out for 3 hours with Tammy & Sam, and boy did they know their stuff. We had tons of fun driving, walking, and visiting so many amazing places. I highly recommend them, for any visitors to Newport.
Sorry it took me so long to get this post up!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
2 reviews
“3 hr Guide Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

What a wonderful tour around Newport R.I. Picked up at our B&B by two terrific women who are so knowledgable of the history of Newport. At first we thought 3 hours would be to much but the honest truth is the 3 hours went entirely to fast and wished we had more time. This tour also included a tour of one of the Mansions of our choice. We chose the Marble House (Vanderbilt) abs
absolutely beautiful. By the end of the tour I wanted to go back in time and live the life of the 1700-1800. As this was our first trip to Newport we look forward to going back next year and when we do we will be going back on another tour with Sammy and Tammy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newport Tour & Guide also viewed

 

Been to Newport Tour & Guide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Tour & Guide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.